Why do anime English voice actors always suck so bad?

in #anime5 years ago

Lately I've started watching Log Horizon again on Hulu. I often watch things in the background while on the computer, but anime isn't usually a good match, since my Japanese kinda sucks. But if it's something I've watched a few times, it's not as bad. Hulu has a bug on Apple TV where if you click to play it from the main page though, it starts the next episode in dub mode, rather than sub.

I hate dubs.

Hearing the voice actors for the English version of Log Horizon literally made me feel a bit sick.

Nyanta turned into some kinda hip sultry jazz musician or something.

Maryelle from the Cresent Moon guild was a ditz...well...she's already kinda a ditz, but a likeable one. They turned her into a valley girl.

I guess I could have maybe gotten used to Nyanta...but it didn't really fit as well as his Japanese voice actor. I definately couldn't stand Maryelle though. She is a side character though...

But it's like this every time I try to watch an anime with English dubbing. Why do they always pick such shitty voice actors? Sometimes I wonder if maybe I don't notice how annoying the Japanese actors can be...but they often do fit the characters. It always feels like the English actors aren't picked as carefully. I'm often astounded when I can even manage to watch an English dub of an anime without retching or having to turn it off.

Do the people in charge of the English dub just not care as much to find the right actors for the job? Or do they have a lower budget, so they can't get good actors? There are a few animes with pretty big actors names for the english dubs though. I'm always surprised when I recognize a voice. So, what is it? Are they just treating anime like another cartoon, so they don't try to get as serious of actors?

2917740258_800d97541e_o.jpg
Anime Cross girl by Melody Dragon October 5, 2008 CC BY-ND 2.0 (source)

Sort:  

Important rule of anime:

  1. always try to watch the Japanese version
  2. NEVER ever watch the english one. If you have to, choose the spanish. Even if you don't understand a word, it is still better. Or just mute. Everything is better than the english dub.

I have never tried the Spanish dub...maybe I should try like Russian dubs or something...

I don't know about Russian anime, but I have often seen films with the original voices in half volume and the russion ones above. If they do that for anime dubs too, that is even worse :D

That sounds...very difficult...but if I could actually play multiple tracks at once though different sets of speakers, that might help in language studies.

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Hi @geekpowered
I am a curator for AkibaSteem and this is just to let you know that...:

We're an anime-focused community full of fans and good people!
We aim to find good anime & manga content, share a happy moment, & give some visibility. You got our vote and your post may get featured in our compilation post, if you don't want to be featured please let us know. Keep up the great work!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/7JQruwm

You got a 44.07% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63243.61
ETH 3078.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89