My top 5 anime opening sequences since the year 2000

in #anime6 years ago

2000s.jpg

As I've gotten older, gotten married and started a family its become much harder to watch anime than it used to be. Time is luxury and most of the anime that I like isn't appropriate for the under 5 set. Though I have managed to squeeze some in there here and there.

So Continuing Anime Month here at Retro Room, let's take a look at my five favorite anime opening sequences since the year 2000.

First of all, I had to drop at least a couple of my...

Honorable mentions:


  • Samurai Champloo
  • Attack on Titan

#5 High School of the Dead


This show should be a slam dunk for me. Zombies? Check. Absurdly busty girls? Check. An opening sequence with a great rock song? Yup. High School of the Dead follows a group of students, plus one or two teachers as they escape their school during a zombie outbreak in search of somewhere that hasn't been tainted by outbreak. Its violent, its loaded with fanservce and it has a great, high energy opening sequence.

I'll admit, the boobs are a bit much. I'm a boob guy, but the fanservice in this show even makes me a bit uncomfortable. Dial it back a bit dudes.

#4 Deadman Wonderland


I discovered this show when it was briefly available on Netflix and got hooked on it. Essentially, its about a sadistic prison that pits inmates against each other in combat. Losers are executed while the winners buy a little more time in this horrible environment.

The opening sequence features a fantastic song and striking visuals using a dominating red palette which I just love.

#3 The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzimiya


The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzimiya seems generic on the surface, but dig into it and you'll discover its got a bonkers story about a high school girl obssessed with the unknown while having powers that would let her rewrite reality, if she only knew she had those powers.

The opening is just bright, fun and features a great song. The ending sequence is great too, which has spawned the most iconic dance in the history of anime.

#2 Black Lagoon


Black Lagoon is a completely underrated show that follows the adventures of a corporate drone who accidentally gets mixed up with a band of mercenaries that include their strong willed leader Dutch, tech expert Benny and Remy, an unhinged and unpredictable woman who acts as a one-person army.

The opening sequence features great, stylized artwork and an energetic theme song.

#1 Death Note, version 2


If you've never heard of Death Note, I'm sorry. If you've heard of it, but only seen the live-action Netflix movie, I'm really sorry. The show is amazing, featuring the best cat-and-mouse plot I can recall. In short, the story is about a gifted teenager named Light Yagami who receives a supernatural notebook that allows him to kill anyone in the world simply by writing their name, how they die and by picturing their face as you write it. The show not only meticulously explains how deeply Light goes to cover his tracks, but discusses the moral implications of having this type of power.

The second opening sequence is a crazy visual treat, with a hard metal theme song. I'm a big fan of rock and metal, which you'll see through most of my selections and my affinity for the show paired with the great theme song and great visuals makes this my top pic.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image Source: MYMBUZZ

Sort:  

I lol'd at your first 2 sentences on Death Note.
Great selection you got here. I enjoyed HotD a lot back then (not because of the boobs I promise). Sad that it ends in such a cliffhanger.

As for the OP, my current favourite is Attack on Titan S2, (SASAGEYO INTENSIFIES), Mirai Nikki and Bungou Stray Dogs S2.

Some great picks! I loved Highschool of the Dead myself and Deadman Wonderland! :)

Some of my favorite intros from the last couple of years have to include:

Overlord
Rage of Bahamut
Death Parade

Thanks! I'll have to check those out.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

there are a good selection but there are betters ones for example :
charlotte

or aldnoah zero

and that's only a fast selection of only 30 sec took me hahaha

If need info about animes check my blog have good reviews about animes of actuality XD

Hello @retro-room, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75