Let's Talk About MUSHISHI Season One By Episode (Part 1/5: EPISODE 1 to 5) [MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS]

in #anime5 years ago


☆☆☆ Heya guys! Heya Otakuuuu~!!!☆☆☆

☆☆Tegoshei desu! ☆☆



It's time for some ANIME SPOILERS... I mean.. REVIEW!!!
As you may know, I review or give my thoughts on various anime as a whole. However, the anime I am watching now is kind of "episodic" and every episode doesn't have anything to do with each other, although the main character remains the same.

The anime I want to talk about is entitled "MUSHISHI". It has 26 episodes, so I am going to do this review in five different parts. Each part would contain 5 various episodes except for the last one, which will include 6 episodes. To be honest, I just finished the 7th episode a while ago and I have another reason for blogging this.

As I started watching the anime, I had this feeling that I would like it because it's difficult to grasp. It felt like I was watching "Hyouka". The thing is, I am kind of regretting not blogging about it when I watched it years ago. It was so good, but it was also episodic, so I have forgotten most of it. I plan to re-watch it in the coming days (I'm missing Oreki and Chii-chan!). Anyway, let's start with the discussion. :)


What is MUSHISHI?




IMAGE SOURCE



From the title itself, Mushishi means Mushi Master. The main character who we can see in all episodes is called Ginko. He is considered a Mushishi and is constantly traveling all around Japan to discover more about mushi. But, what is mushi?



IMAGE SOURCE



These "organisms" you see in the picture above are what you call mushi. In the anime, they're considered as primitive lifeforms which possess supernatural powers. Most humans cannot see them, but there are some... including the main character Ginko who are capable to do so. There are different kinds of mushi and each has various effects or powers. I am yet to discover more as I watch the remaining episodes, but for now, let me share my thoughts on the first five episodes.


Episode 1: The Green Seat




IMAGE SOURCE



In this episode, Ginko went into the forest where a certain boy named Shinra lived. He used to live there with his grandma, but unfortunately, his grandma died. Before his grandma died, she told him to stay in the forest and never leave the place.

Shinra has a special ability. Whatever he writes/draws come into life. When I saw this for the first time, I was reminded of SAI from Naruto. His drawings also came to life which became very useful in their battle. However, for Shinra, his drawings turn into mushi.

Ginko wanted to interview him, but Shinra doesn't really want to do so. However, the boy got interested because Ginko can see mushi. At night, Ginko saw a certain entity... he was surprised because it was half human and mushi... and guess what? It was Shinra's grandma! ^^

It was an nice episode for me... the way his grandma became half mushi was very interesting. :) How? You may watch the anime to find out! ;)


Episode 2: The Light In The Eyelids




IMAGE SOURCE



This was a very epic episode for me. It's about a girl named Sui who experiences pain whenever she sees light, so she was kept in a very dark storage. Obviously, it was caused by a mushi.

One boy named Biki was taking care of her. I'm not sure if hey were related, but somehow Sui was neglected by her family and was kept by Biki's family. Biki usually goes to the dark storage to give her her necessities, but Biki's mother was worried that he might acquire the same disease.

One time, Sui was telling Biki about her condition and how there were two different eyelids one of which was the normal one, but the other shows you total darkness. Biki was genuinely worried and cares for her.

One night after that incident, Biki suddenly experienced the same symptoms as Sui. He was reading something and there was a lit candle in front of him when he felt sudden pain in his eyes when the candle light flickered. And then, Ginko entered the scene to help Biki and Sui. (There's a certain scene in this episode which I truly like. I was so amused to see it. Wanna know what it was? WATCH IT!)


Episode 3: Soft Horns




IMAGE SOUR5CE



If the second episode has got something to do with the eyes, the third one is related to the ears. There's a certain village where during winter, a lot of people couldn't hear a sound. Majority of them couldn't hear on one ear, but there are rare cases of being deaf on both ears.

At first, I thought it was caused by the same mushi but actually there were two different mushi affecting the villagers. Those that couldn't hear on one ear was easily treated by Ginko. On the other hand, the serious case was that of a boy who grew horns when he covered his ears. If the others couldn't hear anything on one ear, his case was very different. He hears a lot of things which are not heard by a normal person. And because of the noise, he couldn't hear what he should normally hear. His mom died of the same symptom last winter.

What I found interesting was that the mushi affecting the people resembles the vestibule and cochlear of our ear. It's the snail-like structure inside the human ear. :)


Episode 4: The Alley Through The Pillow




IMAGE SOURCE



That moment when you think that it was a prophetic dream, but ended up to be the opposite... it's plain tragic! This episode is about a man whose dreams were affected by a certain mushi. The villagers in their village feel so thankful to him for his "prophetic dreams".

Ginko heard rumors about him and went to find him in a certain village and gave him some sort of medicine to control the frequency of his "prophetic dream". Ginko told him that he'll have more dreams in the days to come, so once the frequency increased, he should start drinking the medicine and Ginko will just come back to get him more. Overdosing isn't useful, so he should be wise at using the medicine. At first he was doubtful, but when the frequency increased, he started drinking it. However, something tragic happened and he thought it was the medicine's fault. So, he decided to stop taking the medicine, which gave birth to more tragic things.

In a way, I enjoyed this episode... but it's kind of darker than the previous episodes. It was kind of unpredictable, and that made it more interesting to watch. Do you know where the mushi was? Find it in the episode title!!!


Episode 5: The Traveling Swamp




IMAGE SOURCE



I love her green hair, but that isn't her actual hair color. It happened when she was drowning then a really huge green something enveloped her. She then woke up beside the swamp, but that swamp wasn't a normal one, it was traveling. Slowly traveling towards its end.

It was fascinating yet alarming because it's like nature trying to kill itself. The swamp suddenly drains and appears in another place. It's like following the path of a dried river going to the sea. And it was said,once this swamp mixed in with the sea, it dies. What was more alarming was this woman with the green hair, wanted to travel with the swamp towards its end.

She, too, had a past that was not so good to remember. She was somehow sacrificed to a water god in order to save their village. I really don't get the purpose of offering a sacrifice and how it becomes an honor for some.

Anyway, I like how this episode ended. In this episode too, Ginko met Adashino-sensei who is a doctor and is a collector of anything related to mushi. He and the people in his village were a great help in this episode. I like the way they all helped each other when Ginko requested them to do something.




That's the first five episodes. In the coming days, I'll be talking about the episodes by batch. For now, I'll get back to watching. I'm still on the 8th episode. Also, I have to work until dawn today. :) So I might be sleeping the whole morning. Despite this change of schedule, I'll do my best to find time to watch and continue with this review. So, until then! :D






That's all for this post!
I hope you enjoyed reading it~! ^^
Let's keep watching anime!
Baibai~!
@tegoshei

Sort:  

Ohhhh....Mushishi...I watched the first episode a while ago and you know what I did after hahaha.
I really liked Hyouka though...
Great review again!

hahaha.. OMG, sis! You're so cute.. ww
Hyouka was amazing.. gonna rewatch it sometime soon.. :) Thanks~

You got a 3.05% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I have not seen that animation, but I know the name😃
But it seems to represent Japan's spirit well…Because Japanese people in the past were very close with insects.
I also love insects, Filipinos are good friends with insects?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow... that's interesting to know. ^^
In the anime, some "mushi" takes in the form of some insects... :D
I guess it depends on what kind of insects there are.
Personally, I don't mind seeing or observing insects, but I dislike cockroaches. T_T

Ahaha Yeah, Maybe Cockroaches are hated from all over the world😂
Actually, I am breeding Philippine insects! It is a stag beetle and beetle!
So I would like to go to the Philippines to see insects someday😉

Posted using Partiko Android

They are... but there's a Japanese animation about alien cockroaches... I heard it's an interesting story, but I don't want to see cockroaches even in manga/anime. T_T

Wow... I wanna see them! Do you have pictures of them?

Unfortunately, there aren't a lot of insects in the city/suburbs these days... however, you'll be able to find them in the countryside or mountainous areas... :D


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-resteem ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28