Share Your Favorite Anime Challenge | Peter Pan

in #animechallenge6 years ago (edited)

As a kid, one of my dreams was to be able to fly someday. I really thought this was possible. This was because I was really hooked on Peter Pan. The show was aired in the Philippines around the 90's. I just can't remember for sure if this was in the afternoon but I have a feeling that it was. (I think it was scheduled to run before Ang TV).

images (6).jpeg
Source

I watched the tagalized version. And up to now, the opening theme still plays in my mind. It really perks me up. And back in the day, I remember playing it on my flute every time someone asks me to play something.

The story starts when Nana, the Darlings' dog bites Peter Pan's shadow off of him when he visited Wendy, John and Michael in their room in London. Wendy sews the shadow back on Peter the next time he visited. He then brings the three siblings to Neverland where their adventures begin. They meet Tinker Bell (my all time favorite!), Tiger Lily, the mermaids, Luna, the crocodile, And the Lost Boys. Of course the story would not be complete without his nemesis Captaian Hook and his trusty boatswain Mr. Smee.

images (7).jpeg
Source

This anime really sparked my imagination. A lot! For a period of time in my childhood, I was so afraid that our dog might bite someone's shadow off. But I also thought they might only like the shadows of those that can fly. It was also because of Wendy that I wanted to learn how to sew. (You know, just in case our dog bites someone's shadow off.) I also thought that it was possible to fly. I even had dreams about me flying!

peterpan.jpg
Source

I was so envious of Wendy because she got the chance to fly with Peter. Hoping that someday I could fly too, I remember promising myself that I would find myself some Pixie dust. According to the story, you need to sprinkle some of those so you could fly. But as for Peter, all he needs to do is to think happy thoughts. If I remember correctly, Peter taught the three siblings how to fly using only happy thoughts.

Because of Peter Pan, I have with me a happy energetic feeling all the time. It made me feel that any situations I face is just another adventure at Neverland. All I would ever need to fly and succeed are happy thoughts. Even at times of failure, all I think is to divert the sadness into happiness to make everything feel light.

images (8).jpeg
Source

I was young when this anime was aired on Philipine TV and to me back then, everything was simple. If you're sleepy, go to sleep. If you want to watch TV, complete your chores and school assignments on time. Everything was an equation of "if, then". Remembering Peter Pan makes me remember this kind of thinking. That everything in life is simple. Every problem has a solution, every good deed has a reward (someway, somehow) and every wrong doings has a punishment.

images (9).jpeg
Source

Peter Pan has guided me even through my childhood, even through now. It made me believe that anything is possible. You just have to have a positive attitude and of course a lot of happy thoughts.

Sort:  

Congratulations @romeskie your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you very much! :-)

One of my favorite characters here is Tiger Lily :D I used to imagine sprinkle myself with dust too, so I could fly haha. Nostalgia bomb.

Haha. If I had known of those pink sandy beaches, I might have thought those were pixie dust. LOL.
My favorite is Luna. And of course Tinker Bell! I already have plans on having my daughter wear a Tinker bell costume. Hahaha

I almost forgot who Luna was. It was like a totally different story from original Peter Pan with those people around. This character is there but looking back I'm not really sure how she relates to the whole story haha.

P.S. Tinker Bell would look cute on your daughter.

For a moment there I thought that was Reyna Dowagger but that's in another anime... haha
That, if I'm not mistaken is Luna's grandma? Haha. Or her other self. Ugh! I have to watch this again!!! Hahaha

Naalala ko nanaman si Kron dahil kay Captain Jack nyahahaha.

Hahaha. Si Captain Jack Sparrow naman yun eh. Hahaha.. Si James Hook itong captain dito. Pero pede pa rin si pinunong Kron dito kay Captain Hook. Wahahahaha.

I remember the sleepless nights I had because of binge watching "Once Upon a Time", a hollywood series, where the story of Peter Pan was highlighted but with a twist!

I like your concluding statement, sis. Indeed, nothing is impossible with the right mind and attitude! ☺

OmG!!! I love OUaT too!!! I haven't watch the final season though. I didn't like how they highlighted Peter Pan's story there but I love the series nonetheless.

I wanted the ending of the series already but they just had to add another season.. I'll watch that final season 2 weeks from now. Hehe

I deleted my original response because it was so full of spoilers. Lol

I was so envious of Wendy because she got the chance to fly with Peter.

Ayyy aw! Jaja. Marami akong gustong sabihin pero huwag na lang. Basahin mo na lang ang nasa utak ko, yun yon @romeskie!

Haha. Parang ayaw kong basahin... may #balikrespeto program pa naman kami. Wahahah


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you! :-)

Lol I still like peter pan nowadays.. and even all the movies of it too...

You can say that again! I like the movie Pan the most. The story is when Pan and Hook were still friends. I love the variations on every story. The darkest version I watched about Peter Pan was the one in the series "Once Upon a Time."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88