I'm Absolutely Gutted Today. Anthony Bourdain is Dead

in #anthonybourdain6 years ago (edited)

I just woke up to the news that celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain is dead.

anthony-bourdain-parts-unknown-NEWSEASON0417.jpg

The 61 year old rock star chef, author and journalist committed suicide while filming an episode of Parts Unknown in France.

If you only knew Anthony from his show on CNN, which was for me the only reason to watch that network, let me tell you he was a hell of a lot more than just a former chef turned tv personality!

screen-shot-2016-10-31-at-9-52-40-am.png

For me Tony was an inspiration, he battled drugs like heroin and came out on top. He worked around the world in some of the best restaurants on the planet and documented his journey along the way. He was an absolute genius for his captivating story telling, literally one of the best ever.

Anyone who has ever worked in a kitchen knows the power and realness in which he put into his work. He first gained critical acclaim for his book Kitchen Confidential around 2000 and shot to stardom.

4153247248.jpg

That book has since sold millions around the world and I cannot stress enough how great of a masterpiece it is.

Everyone knows celebrity chefs now, they've ballooned in popularity as of late with entire networks devoted to their craft but Anthony was the realest of the real. For me he was an idol, sort of like the James Dean of the restaurant industry.

I could list the awards and achievements the Mr. Bourdain had accumulated over his career but there's simply too many.

1491581066698.jpeg

Many of my friends and work associates will be quite bummed out this week because Anthony put so much of himself into his work and documented his travels, struggles and passions so well that we all feel like we knew him.

He was the finest ambassador for those of us that work in the restaurant industry.

It's a very sad day

Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

DQmW9YxeSqqsKR2yv7ZHMGvhUtoR4zRVQeGYDCRVhpegSTE.png

Sort:  

So sad. Can't believe it. I usually don't feel much when something happens to a celeb, but this is different, really hit me when I saw this. I like listening to him talk about anything, he is so real and captivating.

:(

cook it up good for him

100% agree with your statement. He was more a real dude than a celeb even tho he became so popular later on

Sad news indeed. The man struggled with his personal demons, and I think that came through in his passionate way he made his shows. I have been watching his shows for years, since the No Reservations days, and the manner in which he brought the culinary world to life, is unmatched. Rest in Peace Tony.

Well said. I highly suggest reading Kitchen Confidential and A Cooks Tour. They're so well written and a pleasure to read that even if you don't work in the industry u can still enjoy them

I’m literally gutted. He was my hero. I loved his bad ass attitude and the fuck you attitude he had towards being a celebrity. I read his book, watched his shows and always wished to meet him in person.

I think it’s awful that someone who is 61 is still feeling lost enough to commit suicide. 😨

Yeah tragic even at the ripe old age of 61, thx for stopping by!

It is indeed a sad day. Anthony Bourdain was an extremely talented man. The world has lost another icon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22