antique and relic; why do we love antiques?

in #antique6 years ago (edited)

20180916_153739.jpg

why do people love old and antique things? things which are sometime useless and out of the application they once have designed to.

I had a Cadillac Seville 1972 when I was 18. it was a great car, 350 engine V8 fuel injection with many facilities a brand new car didn't have in 1998!

but honestly, it was a bit of problem. the fuel pomp, the cylinder cap the brake pomp everything could broke anytime without prior notice! Finally I sold the car, and still I have the regret, I wish I could have him for ever!

why?!

i have asked this many times, from my friends, my psychiatrist and myself! here are the results I got:

  1. maybe old things have sentiment of the old days
    I had my first girlfriend kissed in that car, I had my first travels with friends, I .... I grew up a man in that car!

  2. connecting you to the past
    do you enjoy telling your friends "this ring or table was given to my grandpa by his grandpa"?! so it has been in your family for 5 generations. this brings you a connectiin to your past.

  3. the illusion of getting rich!
    yes some antiques can make you rich but it is the last thing a man can do to become rich! it takes a lot of patience, risk and money!

  4. story tellers
    i have noticed many people who enjoy collecting old things, love the moment they are speaking about them. the antique pays off everytime the owner shows off or bring up with the information and data.

anyway, these were my findings. may I have your opinion? 😏

Sort:  

I also like old things, older products were made to last today, is not it so

that's true!
today's manufacturers are not patience for consumers to return!

What a good post. I don't drive a car but my husband has and he likes watching a US TV programme called "American Pickers". Sometimes I look in on it and it is amusing but mostly it's the places they visit and the people they meet, antique or junk lovers all! Great fun and informative too. Most of what you say is true so I agree with your findings.

😀 thank you for stopping by and comment 🍀🙇‍♂️

Because antiques are awesome 😎

haha so you are in 😉

They are beautiful ... iconic design

Posted using Partiko iOS

definitely 👍
Ferdinand Porsche's masterpiece

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79