🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAYS - A FRENCH DECOUPAGE TABLE 🌟

Antique Thursdays.jpg

Today's Antique Thursday is a most amazing French decoupage or papiermache table.

I love this piece because it is authentic. It is super old, possibly 1820's, and totally and fully created by hand.

We bought this in a market in Paris, and the seller was well known to our antique dealer there.

It's hand painted, with gilded details and stunning floral decoupage. It is a little bit marked, but that happens with antiques, and in my opinion, is one of the characteristics that makes antiques so special. I hate it when my clients say, "Oh, can't you just fix this little mark here, or do this?"

50397951_2094287460651011_1018863197202939904_o.jpg

This is not H&M home, nothing is perfect and made in China. These pieces have lasted years and years, and those marks are their battle scars!

I was looking at the gilt and red scrolls on the side, and they made me think of Chinoiserie, and if I am correct, that could put this table way back into the 1700's. I'll have to have a look at it in person tomorrow. People just don't get it!!

tablecrop.jpg

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



TAKE ME BACK💓 to the Cederberg Mountains - AN APPICS POST
WhatsApp Image 2019-01-30 at 10.46.32.jpegMY FIRST APPICS POST🌸

🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

The Jamestown Gbekebii School - by @for91days
A Lesson Learnt From Trying To Save Money On My Coffee by @alvinauh
What Is Load Shedding? by @morkrock

footer.png

Sort:  

It's stunning. A seriously impressive piece.

I knew some folks once upon a time that made a living out of making things look old. The secret being that if you don't claim it's old and let the people make up their own minds then it's not fraudulent. :)

Most of them were sold on consignment so there was no claim to be made either way.

That's a very pretty piece, lovely piece :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10