🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAYS - A FRENCH DECOUPAGE TABLE 🌟

Antique Thursdays.jpg

Today's Antique Thursday is a most amazing French decoupage or papiermache table.

I love this piece because it is authentic. It is super old, possibly 1820's, and totally and fully created by hand.

We bought this in a market in Paris, and the seller was well known to our antique dealer there.

It's hand painted, with gilded details and stunning floral decoupage. It is a little bit marked, but that happens with antiques, and in my opinion, is one of the characteristics that makes antiques so special. I hate it when my clients say, "Oh, can't you just fix this little mark here, or do this?"

50397951_2094287460651011_1018863197202939904_o.jpg

This is not H&M home, nothing is perfect and made in China. These pieces have lasted years and years, and those marks are their battle scars!

I was looking at the gilt and red scrolls on the side, and they made me think of Chinoiserie, and if I am correct, that could put this table way back into the 1700's. I'll have to have a look at it in person tomorrow. People just don't get it!!

tablecrop.jpg

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



THANKFUL FOR THE LITTLE THINGS IN LIFE - APPICS POST
PARTIKO IS AMAZING 👍🏻

🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

Steemians I Am Apparently One Of The Most Censored Controversial People Online Banned By Facebook, Twitter and Now Even Medium - by @an0nkn0wledge
Death and Taxes - As inevitable as Beverages with friends for Zeke! by @zekepickleman
Feathered Friday - Peafowl family by @lizelle

footer.png

Sort:  

A lovely table, the swirls around the edge remind me of dragons and the flowers look like they were drawn in pastel - so delicate.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks my guy! Actually I think the reason you are thinking of dragons is because those swirls may or may not be inspired by the east - the French were big on Chinese and Japanese influences in the 1700s 💓

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, this table is barking up my tree!!! Oh, my!! Don't I say that about almost all your pieces????

This is an absolute treasure, outrageously striking with the decoupe and the skill used on the placement of the florals.

I have never been able to understand people that want a perfect antique. Everything I have has lived a full life, is still in good condition, but, but, has been obviously loved. I am okay with that. I am better than okay with that. To know that this piece was touched, fawned over and handed down to another to love? What better way to live??

This piece is gorgeous!! You need to take more pictures of your shop for #MarketFriday!

Old is Gold!! Yes!!!

!tip

I so agree with you! The beauty of antiques are the history to me. Look, I don’t want things falling apart, but when it’s so special like this, I really don’t mind 💓

I actually have a video planned for market Friday of my shop, just gotta get my ass into gear and edit it

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hehehe! No rush! They are starting to call it MarketWeekend! LOL

I think I have seen similar pieces back in the day at some friends'
Funny most of these have been "upgraded" to modern day and than we realise we gave up treasures
Hope it turns out to be a good find when you see it in person :)

Oh I have it already. It is incredibly beautiful.

The nice thing about antiques is that even if we give them up, someone will get to love them in the future 💓💜💓💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Niceee
Congratulations :)

Antique in my mind "Old is Gold" treasures of when most works performed were a trade, made with love and detail. You appear to have found something of great beauty here @princessmewmew

Furniture pieces cleaned up to show their former glory is one thing, retouching or painting a big no, I agree the piece earned the age it has reached, keep it authentic.

Old is definitely gold! I agree one hundred percent!

Glad you see my point xx I get so frustrated with my clients when they want me to make antiques “perfect”

Posted using Partiko iOS

What is perfect always in the eye of the beholder, antiques more often than not lose value when being "touched up".

Absolutely!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh heavens @princessmewmew "These type of customers" I've been there. Having owned a business that did floral arrangements, parties and sold antiques and painted furniture, you always get the "Well, couldn't you just..." and of course you want to think NO I couldn't It's a bit of art you appreciate after we've made it, but of course for most of it we'd change it, but never Antiques!

What I love the most about antiques IS the imperfection, the scratch or marr. It conjures up all sorts of visions what a hand or foot or anything did to the piece in the past.

Amazing piece, by the way. I love decoupage. It's a perfect example of 'mass production' at the time, when the West was in love with the stuff and Venetian furniture makes hired 'assistants' to hand colour art and cut it out and apply it just to keep up with the demand as they couldn't import the stuff from Asia fast enough.

Really is a wonderful piece, is it hard to ship back from France to you?

Hi lady! Glad to see you on my page 💓

I know what you mean... we often go the distance for our clients, even though it’s not what we would have done.

It isn’t too bad to get the furniture into SA - we have a contact in Belgium who we buy through, and he helps us with buying on the markets, as he speaks the language, and then we fill a container and ship it over

Posted using Partiko iOS

Excellent hand-made item!
Exclusive!

Thank you !

Posted using Partiko iOS

A friend who started her little furniture restoration business years ago opened my eyes on how stuff lose value when people try to restore scratches etc etc. Thank you so very much for the shout out @princessmewmew:)

Absolutely Lizelle! Antiques are not meant to be perfect, the beauty is in the imperfections x

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not big on antiques but my mother was and she would have loved this table...

Ah lovely! It’s nice that the table made you think of her x

Posted using Partiko iOS

So beautiful and so rich with its own characters <3 These types of antiques should never be 'upgraded' without the proper care because such things may lead to their loss of charms.... I love the colours and the flowers ! A gorgeous table, for sure <3

Thank you very much! I absolutely agree with you x

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh! What a lovely table! and the craftmanship that went in to creating it! It's a piece of art, like having a floral painting on your table instead of hanging on the wall. Beautiful!
The scrolls on the side are quite unique. I've never seen anything like that on a table and that the designs are on the bottom of the table too, how fine!
Do you ever do restoration work on antiques? I had a friend who use to go to the auctions and find great deals on pieces of art and antique furniture etc. and he had them fully restored saving some masterpieces that would have been lost forever if they were left to deteriorate any longer.
It's fascinating to visit his home for it is just like a museum.
Here's a picture of his "Red Drawing Room"
reddrawingroom-1024x764.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91