🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAYS - AN ITALIAN MACARONI CHANDELIER 🌟

Antique Thursdays WORKING Cover.jpg

Happy Thursday y'all. This week's antique is a special one, and I am totally in love with it!

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-28 at 12.11.35.jpeg

For this week's Antique Thursdays, I am sharing a vintage Italian cage chandelier with you. It's frame is made of brass, and beaded with crystal beads. This particular style of beading crystal is called macaroni beading, because traditionally the beads were shaped like small macaroni pastas, like in this stunning antique Italian light I found on 1st Dibs:


Source


Source

Unfortunately, when we purchased this chandelier, most of the original crystals were broken, so we had to replace the antique crystals with new crystals, and those macaroni shaped crystals are hard to come by, so my guys had to use round beads. I think it still gives it the desired look, but it is not considered "original" when we do this.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-28 at 12.11.34.jpeg

I think it still looks amazing. Did you spot the crystal flowers? Are they not the best?

I especially love the Italian chandeliers like these because they are much lighter and contemporary feeling than some of the heavier French counterparts. I can picture this in delicate, pretty bedroom or bathroom, something light and soft, with lots of whites, pinks and maybe buttercup yellow.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-28 at 12.11.34 (1).jpeg

How do you feel about this one? I find some people think all chandeliers, no matter the style, are frou frou.

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜



🌸Give Some Love to My Past Posts:🌸



🌸Recommended Reading:🌸

Travel With Me The Temples Of India 2 - Kedarnath Temple - Kedarnath, Uttarakhand - by @oodeyaa
Blessed By His Grace Culture Post by @for91days
Seadbeady Freebie Pattern of my own design by @seadbeady

footer.png

Sort:  

I do like chandeliers and those crystal flowers look really pretty! I know what you mean about restorations, some can be done superbly well and keep the original design flawlessly but other restorations do lose that original character.

Still, I think it looks very grand! I'd love to have a castle or at least a tall Victorian house that it would fit in!

Thanks for sharing 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

beautiful...this type of lighting never goes out of style..so elegant. Bet it is hard to clean much less restore.

My ten year old granddaughter and I both like crystal chandeliers. She even asked Santa for one last Christmas and it is now hanging in her bedroom.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! Well, girl!! You know I am about as frou-frou as they come!! When I lived in Europe, I did a lot of chandelier shopping - or actually looking, but, I can tell you that I have five bathrooms here in this house and I actually have chandeliers in the two of the biggest... I might have them in a couple bedrooms and in the hallways... OMG... I have two spare hanging in the rafters of my garage!!

OMG! Let's not got there, Hmmm?

I love this one, and the macaroni pieces are hard to replace, however, I would buy a piece, even if it doesn't have all the original pieces because, just like art, I don't care if it has value, I need to love it first. I would make a terrible business person, but, I can keep my head on about value. Just when it comes to my house, I gotta love it. :)

Load it up, I will take it home with me!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Five bathrooms? Wow! I think we need a house tour, Denise! Maybe you can do a ‘Market Friday - Home Edition” for us!!

I agree about loving s piece - regardless of style

Posted using Partiko iOS

OMG! You are so funny. It's a house!! LOL




That is the front house and porch and the other shot is the kitchen. I may change out the granite counters and backsplash to quartz. I am still thinking about it.

Ah it is sooo pretty! Exactly what I think of when I think “Merica!”.

I love the hanging ferns on the porch, so lovely!

Hahaha! That is so funny! That is what everyone says when they go through my neighborhood. The ferns are just starting, They were just transplanted to a bigger pot and will be huge when summer really rolls in.I hope you are having a wonderful day!

Really lovely @princessmewmew and of course it's not original when you do that but it's still beautiful and that is what counts. I always drool over a good chandalier.

Thanks Donna! I just love this one. Some are too heavy and just too much, but this one is perfect and delicate!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.14% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

That is a seriously impressive piece, there is just no way around it. Using modern beads is the difference between restoration and renovation. You just plain have to renovate in some cases. For me, it doesn't distract from the history and appreciation of it at all.

For instance: Have you ever tried to find a hood for a '72 Ford Ranchero (my most current search) ? Best effort seems to be from a '73 Torino, not much different.

I love antique Thursday. I'm going to celebrate this one at a antique and vintage car auction in Phoenix!

It sucks when you can't bring something back to original, but it's very cool when you can at least bring it back to its formal glory. Even though the round crystals aren't macaroni shaped it doesn't take the beauty that you were able to restore to the chandelier thanks for sharing!

This is gorgeous! I love the crystal flowers, I can't imagine the time and energy that went in to this chandelier. Really a find and so fun to restore :) I can just envision this in one of those extravagant Italian homes! Beautiful @princessmewmew

a very wonderful art my friend.
extraordinary history @princessmewmew

Thanks so much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17