More Sunlight on Tazewell County! (But This Might Surprise You)

in #appalachia6 years ago (edited)

It's a well-established fact that I've made it a personal mission to shed more sunlight on Southwest Virginia. My end goal? I hope to - eventually - influence some type of cultural change. The thing about sunlight, though, is that it exposes the good and bad equally. And sometimes there are really good things to see here.

One thing I really like and respect about the Tazewell County Sheriff's Office is their effort to interact with the community, and bring positive attention to the work they do. I like this so well, in fact, that I incorporated that bit of their department into a fictional Sheriff's department in my upcoming novel, High Kill. I also love the atmosphere of the old school building the Sheriff's Department now occupies so much that I incorporated some of it into the novel, as well. It's all fictionalized, mind you--I described a building that doesn't actually exist, and a Sheriff's Office that doesn't actually exist. But the mood is something I tried very hard to capture. You can glimpse a little of the real building here, including a few shots of the gleaming woodwork that was left intact even after renovation. Here, also, is the social media savvy I describe in the novel, so you can see for yourself why I thought it was important enough to write about.

Click the picture to watch the lip-sync video on their social media page. It's hilarious!


 







 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.authordianeryan.com/uncategorized/more-sunlight-on-tazewell-county-but-this-might-surprise-you/

Sort:  

A good job for their first one.

I totally agree. I think it's really well done.

they ignore
they laugh then
they yell at you, they treat ya' like dirt
then they know you are a threat
then they can look in the mirror.....or not
can change the culture...or not
b

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01