It’s a coffee and crypto kind of morning. Moved around a little BTC and then got ...

in #appics5 years ago (edited)

... it on my Ledger Nano. You guys... security is SO important! If you own crypto, you need a hardware wallet to make sure your funds are secure. Don’t just let it sit on an exchange. What if that exchange suddenly shut down and you lost your money? Getting a hardware wallet for the first time can be intimidating (I know I was)... but I’ve found Ledger to be intuitive and easy to use. Well maybe I had to YouTube a few things - but for someone that’s pretty non-techy like me - it was really pretty painless and now I can sleep a little better at night knowing all my funds are safe.

Here’s my ledger referral link:
https://www.ledger.com/?r=2135c63712ca

c9b6baf824b398d2b214d255dea56daa

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

I started using a Nano the other day, after I had it sitting there unopened for months. I figure it is time to start thinking about future security.

When Nanos were hot back in the spring of 2017, I ordered a box of them and sold them for cash and on eBay for a nice payday. It was so new then that they were going for $400-$500 at the peak since they came in from France and were back-ordered. Sadly, Ledger's courier messed up my shipment and I lost a full month waiting for redelivery. The prices fell quite a bit, but it was still a strong profit and good experience. I also got to meet some crypto guys in person and learn about their experience/a key exchange I wasn't aware of while I was fumbling around my state's legislation for access to alt coins.

Do you use the Ledger Live app?

Nice!! Yeah I’ve had mine for over a year and have been happy with it. Even though I know better though, I left some BTC on an exchange for way too long. Haha Finally got around to actually putting it in my wallet this morning. 🙈

Having read about Quadriga, which acts as a warning, this is sound advise- thanks for the information Lea.....

Posted using Partiko iOS

What would be the main benefit to have a hard wallet?

If you just leave your money sitting on an exchange - then you are trusting that company to keep it safe for you. If they suddenly shut down or had their accounts frozen - there would be nothing you could do. Having a hardware wallet basically puts the power in your hands to make sure your funds are safe and always accessible.

I was expecting a pic of the ledger

😄

Ha!! I was expecting more of a close-up..

Such an important reminder!

Cold storage on a piece of hardware is a great method of ensuring security- just don't lose the passwords!

Sorry to hijack your post with a random question @coruscate, but is the Steem Monster Shop offline?

Im always in for Coffee and crypto in the morning, Plus Steem Monsters, Lol!

Cool, an exyle-style coffee mug picture ^^

I am going to get one and will use your referral. Thank you. Also, Appics wont let me copy it. Weird...just gunna shuffle over to steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25