Hobbies can add a lot of value to your life. One of mine is vintage watch collecting. I took ...

in #appics5 years ago (edited)

... this picture for a contest a vintage watch collecting club was having a few years ago. The silver one on the left is a 1920’s Gruen Quadron and the one on the right is a 1945 Gruen Curvex. Sadly both have been sold but hopefully they're being well cared for by their new owners. What are some of your hobbies?

0f686e1c84944715d8c18ff03e969ac3

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Hello Eric, how are u doing? I haven't seen your post for several days. I think you must be busy with your routine activities. Speaking of hobbies, everyone must have a different hobby. I like to collect the types of plants on my home page. when I was little I used to collect stamps. At that time there was no mobile phone. So I like to correspond with strangers. I like stamps from abroad. Unfortunately when I went to go to the college in another town... my stamp collection was lost. My mother has eliminated it. Enjoy ur week end, sir.

I'm well, I hope you are too. I've been outside enjoying summer, the season is way too short here! Stamp collecting was a popular hobby that I had forgotten about. I'm sorry to hear your collection was lost! Have a wonderful weekend.

A 1945 Gruen Curvex.? Wow look at that, I really enjoy knowing the specs of this rare vintages, I know they go very expensive wow goodness me, I don't know are they made of quartz? Diamond? Or?

Gruen made an excellent watch. The Quadron was 14kt white gold and the Curvex was 14kt rose gold. You could get these American vintage watches CHEAP on eBay in the early 2000's. They were so much smaller than modern watches that no one wanted to wear them. Their prices have easily grown 300% in the last 20 years. Many of these solid gold cases were melted in the 80's when the price of gold spiked making them even more rare.

I love watches and I also have a small collection. These that you show in the photograph are some beautiful relics. Greetings, @ericvancewalton

Thanks! What kinds of watches are in your collection?

Hello, @ericvancewalton. My collection has no relics, hahaha. I only loved to use them in different models and colors and I was able to buy many in another time, pure feminine flirtation. Now I only have them stored, many without being able to use them for some details to repair. Thank you for your interest. A hug.

This kinds of hobbies are only common to the western world, I can say my hobbies too are gathering information, my dad also does the same, he has so many section of newspaper cut that contains many info and bizarre things, historic things that has happened to my country.

Nice job on the watch collection.

Thanks! That's a cool hobby. Does he keep the newspaper clippings in a notebook or something?

ice seen this kind of watch before, it don't know if it's made by the same name you profess.

Am sometimes amazes by this hobbies of collecting ancient things or things in the past, and then selling them for twice or thrice there original price. It's a mystery am yet to fully understand.

I love the yellow golden colour of the picture.

Thanks! The allure of antiques is a strange thing. I think it's fueled by people's fascination of a past that they feel was better than their present time. Humans seem to always look at the past through rose colored glasses. These feelings of longing for the past really surface as you approach middle age.

Your vintage watch collection is quite impressive from what I can see, very classy indeed! My Grandfather colected Vintage Pocket watches although I know little about them, they looked so intricate in design and very classy as well! Cool hobby my friend!

Thanks! I used to buy them cheap on eBay and bring them back to life and resell them. I have a friend who collects pocket watches! I stopped collecting because it became almost like an addition to find that next "grail" piece. Some of the other active collectors I was on message boards with collectors who had hundreds of timepieces and their entire lives revolved around their collecting. I'm so glad I stepped away from active collecting. I only have a few watches left and there one's I'll never sell....a 1918 Elgin Trench watch, a 1938 Hamilton Rutledge, a 1960's Benrus, and my trusty Seiko diver are about all I have left.

Thanks for your awesome reply back! Those sound like beauties that any one would love to hold on to being a collector or not! Your so right though, it can be very addicting lol! Nice to see you held onto your favorites. I think my uncle got my Grandfathers Collection after he passed away, who knows maybe he's addicted now, Lol!!⌚⌚⌚😂

vintage watch collecting is very interesting hobby I think. But I very prefer to collection old looking stamps. Hobbies change our lifestyle.

Old is gold. So antique things or oldest once being more valuable future and present. Vintage watch is nice selection.

Actually I first thought the watch is gold. Guess it is the colour background of the picture

Great photo, Eric and I really love fishing, so everything is interesting to me, which is connected with it and I can say with confidence that this is my hobby!

Thank you! I'd like to try fishing. I grew up in the city so I've never done it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30