Homemade Cheesecake - edited with more pics and classic recipe

in #appics5 years ago (edited)

I'll come back and add a few more pictures and recipe. I just wanted to get this in before end of day because... Day 3 #monthlyauthorchallenge

Edited to include more pics & the recipe



9511e16840f187af84de8d9e775b9b86

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Edited

This is the very first cheesecake that I've ever made. I don't know why it was such a mystery but there was a crazy sale on Philadelphia Cream Cheese and I wanted a yummy dessert.

20190604_145841.jpg

I've never owned a springform pan so that was a necessary purchase - and don't let the foil fool you. This is an after picture. It didn't even occur to me that the cheesecake would leak while it was baking. My oven was a hot mess when I was done - literally!

20190603_115204_2.jpg

After the cheesecake cooled, I snapped a couple of photos - but I bet you want the recipe for this delicious dessert!

I made no modifications on the Philadelphia Classic Cheesecake recipe.

20190605_101020.jpg

Ingredients:

For base:
1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
3 TBSP sugar
1/3 cup melted butter

For cake:
4 pkg. softened Philadelphia Cream Cheese
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
4 eggs

20190603_115001_2.jpg

I had graham crackers so I put them in a ziploc bag and took my aggression out on it with a rolling pin to make the crumbs. Threw them in a bowl with the sugar and butter and mixed until it was well blended and semi-moist. Then I smashed the mix to evenly distribute it on the bottom of my springform pan.

Preheat oven to 325° F

Thank goodness for mixers!
I added the softened cream cheese, sugar, vanilla and one egg and let it mix. I had to stop every once in a while to scrape the mix off the side. One by one I added an egg and let it mix well. Once there was a nice creamy consistency, I poured it on top of the graham cracker base.

I spread the batter to get it as level as possible - then I tapped the pan (not so gently) to try and get the top smooth.

Threw it in the oven to bake for 55 minutes to an hour.

This is where I screwed up!

If you're baking this recipe for the first time, don't forget to line the outside of your springform pan with foil - or at the very least, put it on baking pan. I had melted butter all over the bottom of my oven and the place got a little smokey. hashtag: firehazard

I let it cool on a rack until it got to room temperature and then put it in the fridge to cool before I sprung the pan.

My son was the first to dig in, but I waited until I could snap some pictures with delicious cherry topping.

If I lick it, can I claim the whole thing as mine?

btw - it is as delicious as it looks. YUM!

June 3, 2019 - DAY 3


Going for it!

divider.png


created by @kookyan

Cast your witness votes!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | SnapChat | Trybe | Medium | Whaleshares | Steemit

Sort:  

Ooooh, looking good!!

Can you believe I still haven't had a bite of it yet???

Haha, you have much better restraint then me!😋😋😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I've actually been so swamped I barely ate today. Cheesecake will be in my belly soon enough lol 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

🤣😂🤣😂🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

So good 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20