The Pakistan mulberries are ripening in the food forest today! I’ll post a short ...

in #appics5 years ago

... dtube video in a few hours after we finish our garden work. I’m just blown away by the size, beauty and tastiness of these fruit. I’ll post a link below of where you can learn more about these genetics. Mulberry trees offer so many benefits to us, other than their nutrition. They are fast growing canopy story trees that are excellent shade cover in our desert climate! Stay tuned for the video as I’ll show the size of the tree and her canopy. Thanks for tuning in Appics and Steem Blockchain! #dfood !!! -Jake and the Raw Utah family

0e67cf02bc0373c91d144ba7b5b5d04f

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

I always find new variety of fruit in your posts. Love learning all the possibilities for my future. Can't wait for the dtube video. I want to see the whole tree! Wish I could taste what's in your hand. Thanks for sharing the source for seed.

They look pretty juicy! Incredible to see the harvest bearing fruit!

Posted using Partiko iOS

yessss brother....thank you! we will be high fiving each other....when the steem harvest comes too! :)

Wow ... Pakistani mulberries look ripe and ready for consumption. Frankly, I have never seen it directly and never eat it. How does the fruit taste, Jake. I think it must be sweet huh? Have a nice day, man.

thanks sister! they are soooo delicious! they taste super sweet and juicy. sort of taste like a cross between multiple berries. like blueberry, strawberry and raspberry. :) have a beautiful day my friend! :))

Beautiful and very interesting looking fruit @rawutah! I need to set aside some time one of these days to go back and figure out if you have ever written anything about the size of your "food forest." I am continuously amazed at the variety which comes out of it! 👍

Hope you and yours had an excellent celebration of Mother's Day - one of the great holidays for what is truly important in life - our loved ones. For our celebration, we went up into the high country and we had the blessing of experiencing our granddaughter seeing her first fox - a long cherished goal of hers. And not just one fox either - there were 3 little baby foxes. The adults expressed some concern about where the mother was, but loved that our granddaughter was "over the moon" to seeing them playing and skipping about ...

here's all our youtube videos spanning 10 years of the development. we missed some years in there with babies arriving lol...but you can get the sense of the evolution. enjoy...if and when you have time. ;) all in dtube and steem now....but you can see our history on YT.

https://www.youtube.com/user/rawutah/videos

i can't tell you how much i enjoyed reading your words @roleerob !!!! :) thank you for taking the time to write that down. what a special experience for your granddaughter!!! wow!!!!! sacred moments shared with her fox friends and grandparents in nature. i can see it all in my mind's eye. these are the types of experiences and moments i desire to cultivate with our son and daughter!!!! time to head up to the mountains. been craving cedar mountain....pine valley mountain..and the kaibab plateau. all areas you know well. ;) cheers my friend...and thanks again for sharing this with me!

Other commitments and the effort on my One Year Anniversary post have kept me from responding in a timely manner @rawutah. My constant challenge in actively engaging on the Steem blockchain is the time commitment. Hopefully, you’ll understand and not take it as a lack of interest.

That said, thank you very kindly for the comprehensive response. To say I admire what I had time for in your introductory post is an understatement. We are “kindred spirits” in some respects, with one important distinction. I have often thought about these things. You have actively worked to “bring it to life” for years! 👍

This stood out to me:

”…10 years of adding fruit trees to this small 1/4 acre lot and we've grown to over a hundred fruit trees and countless perennial herbs. it's become a place of solace for all of us. a homeschooling/unschooling.....place for our son to dive into the nature and learn while growing some of his own food. a place refuge.....”

“Square foot gardening” … Resulting in ”a place of solace” … Indeed! 😊

I am glad to have gotten to “know” you a bit here on the Steem blockchain @rawutah. Looking forward to future interactions, as time and opportunity permit!


P.S. I talked to my beloved life mate about your video and that we’ll have to sit down together one of these evenings and watch more of “your story” on our TV. She was born and raised on a farm, so I already know she’ll appreciate what you’ve accomplished every bit as much as I do or more.

What an honor that you took the time...and the energy to check out my intro post..and the food forest with such intention! very humbled over here my friend. thank you!!! i love the way you speak about your beloved. very felt. I'm very grateful I have gotten to know you a bit too. Thanks for being here when you are ....as you do... my friend. Never a concern with me and timing of responses etc. I am very much the same way. I get to them when I can. ;) Raining hard here today...so we are hunkered down lol. Can't wait to get back out in the sun tomorrow. Cheers...and thanks again!

Into a new week @rawutah and catching up a bit this morning, it was certainly very nice to read these words from you! True to my word, the night I wrote my last message, we ended our day here watching one of your YT videos. We picked one where you were taking us through an update on how well everything inside your greenhouse was going.

It was spring and perhaps your first season with it. Not sure. You had various plants / starts waiting to be transplanted outdoors, once the danger of frost was past.

As you took us on the tour, you would pause and pick a leaf here and there and chew it. It was fun watching you actually pick a blossom (sorry, I don’t recall the name, but it was an orangish color …), as well, and chew it up, talking about the nectar inside of it! Definitely must maximize the nutritional value to do that.

We were amazed at how much you had managed to “pack” into a relatively small space. Noted the stones in there, as presumably a great heat sink for whatever they absorb of the sun’s energy during the daylight hours.

So, your posts just are a nice reinforcement for two of our favorite “S” words – sunshine and soil! My profile says …

”Working on greater appreciation for, enjoyment of and satisfaction in the simple things in life.”

… as the older I get, the more I have intentionally worked to improve my understanding of what is truly of value. Note both of these are “free” compared to all of the other temptations that life throws at us to pursue …

We will definitely be watching other videos, as our time and opportunity permit. We loved it. Again, I am very impressed with all you have accomplished on ¼ acre @rawutah. Inspirational! 👍


P.S. Nice to see you are on FTG’s “good boy” list … 👍

P.P.S. Two related posts (not to worry, if your time doesn’t permit, but I wanted to create the links …). First, on “soil,” here is my story of recovering from the gravest illness of my adult life. Key was the role the probiotic “Primal Defense” defense creation of Jordan Rubin played. His “The Maker’s Diet” book [found in most libraries] changed our lives. In it, he tells his own story about the role of soil in his determination to survive. Second, here is my “simple things” post and a brief glimpse at our own teeny weeny “food forest” … 😉

here's my into post bro. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@rawutah/10-years-of-the-food-forest-hello-steemit-vlog-1-2018

you can get a brief over view of the lot size and the beginnings.

Woah. I'm fasting I shouldn't have seen this!

Posted using Partiko Android

my brother!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol...i totally feel YOU!!!! oh man..i wish i could ship you just ONE...of these beauties to break your fast with. just one bite.........mmmmmm! :) love you bro~~~

Brother... You'd never guess what I broke my fast with 😛🤔
It was a lemon 😁😚🙏😎🍋
Love you too brother. Have a magical day!

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks @laundrylady !!! i wish i would have planted MANY more mulberry trees from the very start. i held off because i had heard they were invasive with their roots on slab and buildings. geez...that's no my experience now. not sure what zone you're in...but you look like you're in a higher altitude. no problem...they are found in most zones. check out this video from paul kenaris in florida. he's got an ammmmmazing permie channel covering florida. this video blew my mind! our little dtube clip will be uploaded by mid day :)) my son river and i tried to emulate paul's vid...in gathering some lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43