Countertop Appliances: Air Fryer

in #appliance5 years ago

         Sometimes, kitchen appliances don't receive enough love from us. Many times, we take them for granted until, well, we can no longer use them. Sounds like many things in life, eh? One of my favorite appliances is the air fryer. I have mentioned about this device in one of my previous posts. It appeared that few people knew of this appliance.

         In short, it's a smaller version of the large convection ovens you may find at the deli section of a grocery store. What's the difference between convection ovens and your traditional kitchen ones? Well, the answer is circulating hot air.

         This is where the "fryer" part of the name comes in. The hot air results in a crispy layer that mimics deep frying in oil. So, the obvious difference in the taste of food is the oil. I would imagine some people find the less oil alternative more attractive. The air also, in theory, cooks the food with greater efficiency. Most of the food items I have cooked do not take more than 10-20 minutes to make. You can read more about it here.

         The air fryer I own is the GoWISE USA 3.7-Quart 7-in-1 Programmable Air Fryer. It comes with a recipe book and has several programmable functions that I have yet to explore.

cooked uh oh.jpg

         This particular fryer is more suited for 1 or 2 person-sized portions. If you would like to make a meal for your family, I would recommend a much larger air fryer. The purchase of this item also comes with a recipe book, which can be useful for first time cooks with this device. In general, you don't want to cook food saturated with liquid or use batters that runs off. You may wonder if it is possible to cook eggs with an air fryer. The answer is yes. I followed one of the "egg in a hole" recipes in the book and it turned out okay.

         For the record, I bought my air fryer for $66.33.

         From the picture above, it might seem concerning that the fryer is so close to other items on the side table. In reality, I have been able to use it as is without any trouble. The machine is well-built and the Arcadia wood cutting board is only there in case of a fallout.

         One of my most favorite things to make is fried chicken. I tell myself the air fryer version is much healthier. The truth is, the chicken drips a lot of its own fat after cooking. It does put things into perspective when comparing to deep frying. Fried chicken is easy to make, and I have yet to perfect the batter that goes with it. Remember, we are trying to avoid runny batter. I usually cook the chicken pieces for 10 minutes on one side at 390 ° F (~199 ° C) and then flip them over for 8 minutes at 300 ° F (~149 ° C).

cooked no.jpg

cooked yes.jpg

         Taking out the preparation time, you can cook the food in under 20 minutes. I often use my fryer during my week on of work when I have little time to do much else on top of family obligations. The air fryer is a great time saver and a way for me to indulge on some delicious chicken at a moment's notice.

         Cleaning the fryer is also super easy. The basket which you put food in is simple to remove. You can pretty much clean it like your normal pots and pans by hand. If you want less mess to deal with, you could also line the basket with aluminum foil when frying. In fact, I do that to avoid some potential drippings from the food.

cleaned.jpg

Summary

         It's easy to use. Easy to clean. Good for foods that can clog your arteries with awesome, but at a slower rate.

Sort:  

Slap googlyeyes on it for more love. :o)

Don't GoWise USA but GoEyes USA

I want an air fryer after reading this. $66.33 sound like a great price. Is there an Enforcer48 Special Model?
I would reheat pastries and donuts in there.
Seems like a great alternative to a microwave too.

Have you tried any vegetables? Potato chips?
Beef Jerky maybe... I want one.

No, I haven’t tried vegetables unless you count fries.

The recipe book also includes some veggie entries.

If I were you I would try perforating the chicken tissue with a needle, massive times,
then marinating it on whiskey or rum overnight, then buy a guiness beer and make the batter with beer instead of water, you wont believe the end result.

I could do that, but I would need a thicker batter as the fryer doesn't like runny ones like I pointed out.

the thickness is produced by the proportion of liquid to flour/solids, you can also add panko flakes and tempura for an extra crispy effect and multitextured thickness. not thick enough? add more panko/tempura/flour

Also, the trick you could use to make your life easier and circumvent the problem all together is this: two stage frying, deep par(tially)fry the pieces just so that the batter layer solidifies in place. 1 minute at 350F would be more than enough, probably closer to 40 secs, then finish the pieces in the air fryer.

Can you airfry an airfryer?

Would not recommend, but yes.

I have been wanting to get one for a long time. I have heard great things about them from various people but I just keep dragging my feet when it comes to pulling the trigger and buying one.

A friend of mine love cooking his fresh caught walleye in it. Says he won’t cook it any other way.

You should post stuff like this on Friday and tag it FFF.... join us Food Fight Friday Food Flingers.

It was one of the best purchases I had ever made.

Oh? I have not thought about #FFF. It's rough though because I don't always post on Fridays. I should give it a go one of those times.

Just an idea to throw in the back of your mind... along with the million others. Speaking of Food Fight Friday... I better get the winner announcement post out!!! CRAP!!!

If you'd have tagged this #realityhubs this is exactly what they want in their community and their mods who check every post would have rained tokens down upon you!!

Darn. Lost opportunity.

20190605_165340.jpg

Here's the fried chicken I made in my air fryer. I love the air fryer, it hasn't left my kitchen counter since I unboxed it from the store.

I still have yet to perfect the browning part of air frying my chicken.

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7500 replies. Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@enforcer48, No matter how much we ignore but all those things which are or were part of our life leave a memory for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

I mean, while using some tools many take them for granted but when we can't use it then we get to know the importance of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24