[Nerdist] Do Aquaman First Reactions Have Fans on Board or Jumping Ship?

in #aquaman5 years ago (edited)
 Aquaman will soon hit theaters and bring a new look to the DCEU post Zack Snyder, but how is it being received?  

Sort:  

Every trailer turns me off more and more @cryplectibles. Surprisingly, I didn't mind Justice League near as much as I thought I would, and even Aquaman had a few funny moments. Who knows? Maybe it's watchable, but what they're showing me in the trailers is that Arthur Curry is a meathead bro, which may be fun for a lot of people, but is easily the demographic I can't stand the most. Really, nothing about it is making me want to get to the theater.

It feels like its not safe to fully critique Aquaman because it really looks like it will be one of the better DC movies lol (btw, I also feel like that in the sense that I feel DC gets so shit on I don't want to add to it even if I do have some negative feels on this one). I like probably every single thing going on in this movie except Aquaman himself, whoever this guy is feels like Surferman more than Aquaman. The visuals, all the side characters, this looks like it will be a cool movie to watch at the very least.

Kind of like Venom, a fun flick that does not do the character justice at all and will leave nerds wishing people would understand how much cooler and better stories are already there if they would just stick to the damn stories from the comics!

I'm with @kommienezuspadt in that I also enjoyed Justice League. For some reason, my WIFE really wants to see Aquaman, (actually, we both know why...), and I'm undoubtedly going to catch it when it comes out. I have a pretty high tolerance for cheese, so whether the movie is really good or really goofy, I'll probably find SOMETHING to enjoy. (Personally, however, I'm really looking forward to Captain Marvel, though it ALSO might end up being pretty goofy... I just hope it's FUN!)

Posted using Partiko Android

I kind of agree with this. I had just mentioned Venom and it might fit with that cheesy/goofy description with how that movie ended up.

I can't wait! I think the decision to make Aquaman a surfer-bro was somewhat controversial, but I think it will work for the mainstream audience. Although I prefer a more stoic and ruthless Arthur Curry, I can go with this representation if they go about it the right way. James wan is a great director, so I have hope!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aquaman a surfer-bro was somewhat controversial, but I think it will work for the mainstream audience.

You know DC is going to kick themselves in the ass when Marvel pops out a serious bad ass Namor in a few years lol.

This could very well be true...Marvel has a way of getting it's characters right for the most part. Also Warner Bros. Is much more involved in decision making in regards to characters than Disney is to marvel studios. At least that's what I suspect.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22