Sort:  

Hi amberyooper,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! I appreciate that!

Hello @amberyooper, greetings from Venezuela, not long ago I published a planting of tomatoes in my garden, I had the opportunity to be in some aquaponics crops and really fascinating how you can save on water and other things to have in little space your own sowing, which is a pity that your system is not adapted to winter, here in the tropics there is a lot of rain so that type of crop is not very appropriate, even so I think more in the space than rain, should expand more this type of crops by the opportunities it has to sow anywhere without having to prepare the soil with the products for their yield so traditional crops are more expensive than aquaponics.

I hope to see more of your crops by the end of winter.

the fish reminded me of some Chinese rice fields where in the canals take advantage and raise fish to take advantage of the water.

greetings and thank you for sharing

Thank you for your comment!
The fish that I had in my aquaponics tank are goldfish, they could be the same as the Chinese carp.

Great, here in Venezuela I would cultivate fish species in order to eat. I would be double purpose like tomatoes for example and make a delicious salad with a fried fish. I will follow before your publications to see if I encourage myself and make my own aquaponic harvest at home <3 greetings and thank you for responding.

That is a very interesting aquaponic garden. I did not realize that tomatoes and strawberries can be planted on aquaponic setup. Thank you for sharing it here!

Do you put any fertilizer mixed with the water or you just rely on the nutrients produced by the fishes? Based on your conclusion, have you come up with a good ratio of fishes versus the plants?

By the way, what is that pond plant? It looks like watercress, is it?

Thank you for your comment on my post!
With the fish in the tank, you would not use fertilizers, that could possibly harm the fish. The idea is to just use the nutrients produced by the fish.
I have not figured out a good ratio of fish to plants yet, but I do know that I need more fish in the tank than I had. The number of fish in the tank also depends on the size of the fish. Larger fish would produce more waste for the plants to use, so you wouldn't need as many.
These floating plants are called water lettuce by the places that sell them. I don't know if the plant is edible.

Now I learned something new that fishes alone can supply nutrients for plants. That is a very good way to re-use waste into something beneficial.

Thank you for all the clarifications! 😊

This is fantastic. What an amazing set up. I used to have an Aquaponics setup but the pump broke and the trout died which broke our hearts so we gave it away lol. I love how this is inside too. Did you catch my entry which was the wicking beds?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks!
Yes, I did see your post about wicking beds. I thought it was a well written post, and an interesting way to do the self watering containers. I found it interesting that the water reservoir is filled with rock, I had not thought about doing something like that.

I'm glad you saw it - we don't always know if people don't comment. I like the engagement aspect of these challenges, it's fun to get to know each other too.

This is great. Do you have a pet store that will buy fish from you? My brother used to raise fish and sell them back to the store.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not sure if the local pet store would buy the baby fish that come out of the pond, I haven't asked them about that.
Goldfish are fairly easy to raise in a pond setting. All you have to do is provide them with the right stuff to lay their eggs in and you'll get baby fish, as long as you have 5 or 6 that are mature enough for breeding.
In the past, we've gotten baby goldfish from the pond most years, but not this year. We had to put a new liner in the pond this year so the pond didn't get setup until the middle of the summer.

My brother bought baby cichlids and raised them until they were big then sold them back to the store.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome setup @amberyooper - I love the tub you're using for the fish, it looks so nice with the water plants and the fish :) A nice and compact setup too, would be a great size for a small greenhouse, porch, or even indoors - thanks for the entry :)

Thank you!
Yes, with a stock tank of this size, it wouldn't be hard to set it up indoors. It would probably be good for either aquaponics or hydroponics, although the tank is probably bigger than necessary for a hydroponics holding tank.

What the hell :D gardening seems to be exploding here on Steemit :D Even myself almost posted a post into one contest, but then realized it was already over haha :D

But this is crazy I've never heard of this type of symbiosis between pond fish and plants. Like..they kinda need each other. So what's the additional pond fish food then? Just some extra roots you can buy?

Btw I've seen some Jacque Fresco movies in the past and they were talking about growing olants without soil...kind of just hanging. Cuz it's more scalable. Do you think aquapontics is scalable this way?Or way too much fishes would be needed?

Haha just kill them whiteflies with raid :D That's for sure not harm for fish :D

Great post man, not even that long :) People overdo it often.

I feed the fish a regular pond fish food, that seems to do as well as any other food for them.
As to scalability, My system is really quite small. I've seen systems on youtube that have tanks that hold several thousand gallons of water and hundreds of fish. Of course, the growing beds are much larger also. The fish are usually tilapia, raised to eat, a double food system. People do aquaponics on a commercial scale in some of the big cities in the U.S.

I'm pretty sure ud be a rare case here are in Europe

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool stuff @amberyooper! I don't actually know too much about hydroponics but this cleared up some of my confusions. I think it's pretty cool you can use pots that the roots will grow through if they need to. That's pretty smart if you think about it.

How much food are you getting off the plants? Is it a decent amount or are you still just experimenting to see what is possible? I've heard crazy stuff about the amount you can grow in very little time.

How's the smell? These are all questions I've had whenever I've heard about this in the past hahaha sorry to unload all of them on you. I just find it very intriguing because it seems like such a smart and efficient way of growing food.

Thanks for sharing! I enjoyed reading through your post.

Thanks for the comment!
I didn't get too much food from this experiment, I just had 1 cherry tomato plant in the system. I did get a lot of cherry tomatoes from the plant.
There wasn't much smell with this system. It might have smelled more if I would have had more fish in the tank. With a lot of fish, it starts to get a bit of a pond smell to the system. Of course, since it's in the greenhouse, it doesn't matter if it smells a bit.
I think a lot of people use these systems to grow greens such as lettuce and kale. That's probably a lot more efficient than growing tomatoes in an aquaponics system. I think you would get a lot more food from the system that way.

Yeah that's a good point. Having it off in it's own area would really prevent any concern for odors. It's so fascinating to me though that you're able to efficiently grow food with a system like that. Lots of cherry tomatoes are better than no cherry tomatoes so good on you for making it happen!

This is a great experiment. I have never heard of aquaponic system. We grow everything in the soil. I think it's because we have a lot of land. My uncle used greenhouse in the past to grow veggies during the winter time as well but it didn't seem to be bringing enough value so he stopped.

I love that pond idea. It looks practical and it's very aesthetic. I'm sorry to hear there are those issues with nutrients and whileflies. Can you overcome these issues?

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for your comment!
I think that an aquaponics system or hydroponics system would be best used by someone who doesn't have much space to grow food.
Gardening in the soil makes more sense for crops like potatoes or carrots, things that normally take a lot of space. Hydroponics works really well for plants that you eat the leaves like lettuce and spinach, and also works well for beans and peas.
Whiteflies are always difficult to deal with, but if you are doing hydroponics, there's no fish to worry about killing, so you can use a lot more things to spray them with.
With aquaponics, the nutrients depends on how many fish are in the water tank. The more fish you have, the more nutrients you have. I just didn't have enough fish in the tank this year.

This post is one of the top prize posts for the Meadows & Makers Challenge No.2 - 10 STEEM has been transferred to you. Many thanks for your entry :)

Very cool! Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22