My Dream PC Computer Game

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago (edited)



Unsplash

This is my submission for the Archdruid gaming community contest: Describe your Dream Game run by @enjar.

Opening Ramble

Wow! The idea of designing a the framework of a dream game is the every gamer's dream! How often do we criticise the choices of the developers of a game from our ivory gamers chairs, sitting back and screaming down Twitch and Reddit about how we could do it better and why the hell are we buying their horrible renditions of our perfect gaming worlds!

Of course, the path to disaster begins with a grand vision of what a dream game could be (ahem, Peter Molynieux), and here I lay down my grand manifesto about what my dream game would be!

Inspirations (aka. idea theft)


Pixabay

Well, all great art is "inspired" and borrows from the giants of the past. Gaming is no different, great games borrow elements of the past and rework them to (hopefully) create a better experience. For instance, we all have gaming nostalgia (I first started gaming around the 90's), but if we went back and tried those old games again we would see how much gaming systems have evolved (sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse) over time. The first example that springs to mind is the inventory management in isometric rpgs, these days, the auto sorting and stacking abilities of the inventory (like Pillars of Eternity or Tyranny) are light years ahead of those in the original Baldur's Gate (number 1, not 2!).

Looking at my Steam backlog (which I started when I first bought Half Life 2), I see over 1000 games. Of these games, there are only a small percentage that have really grabbed my time and attention to play longer than a few hours.

Role Playing Games


Unsplash

RPG's are one genre that really grabs my attention. Story, and more importantly a believable and engaging "universe" to sandbox around in, is really critical to the success of the RPG. Of these two, I would say that the story is a little less important, and the believable "universe" is the thing that is absolutely critical in grabbing a player's precious time and attention.


Unsplash

One of the biggest mechanics in RPG's is inventory management. A limited space/weight forces you to make some critical decisions, like do I drop the Cloak of Endless Dimensional Pockets to pick up the Hyper LaserSword of Dragon Slaughtering? A good inventory management mechanic is one that you just don't notice, with the ability to easily compare items and abilities (preferably without a 2 second tool tip pop-up time). Pillars of Eternity and Battle Brothers are games that do this well, with the inventory being divided between the group and personal inventories and equipment.


Pexels

The idea of "Levelling Up" is another mechanic that is one that is central to RPG's, although I guess you can argue that it IS the mechanic that DEFINES RPG's! One thing that I've not always enjoyed with the levelling up mechanic is the at the beginning you are essentially a regular person, but by mid game you are a superhuman killing/lockpicking/stealth machine. The is the thing that destroys the game experience for me, the fact that the difficulty often just drops off completely and that you start to play on auto-pilot. Some games fix this by scaling the difficulty of the enemies and challenges, but I find this a bit tied to an escalating storyline. This can be quite enjoyable, but (spoiler!) the type of game I want to design is a open sandbox of some sort! Game that I think handle the problem of levelling and the difficulty curve really well are Dark Souls, Oblivion with mods, Mount and Blade series, Divinity: Original Sin and King's Bounty. I also hear that Kingdom Come: Deliverance also does it well, but I haven't yet played it, so I can't say for sure!


Unsplash

RPG's shouldn't try to force you down certain paths for overcoming obstacles, however, neither should they leave things so open that you are trying min/max XP points by trying to do everything! Games that I found were open to the abusing of the XP gains were Deus Ex: Mankind Divided and Dishonoured, both were great games that had multiple solutions to each challenge, but they way that they allocated XP rewards and items led to the player (well, me at least) trying to max out the rewards by finding every path/solution! Games like Pillars of Eternity handle this by allocating XP rewards for completing the challenge, and not for individual parts of the challenge (so nothing extra for killing enemies, lockpicking chests and doors or discovering secrets passages). Games like Age of Decadence also allow for many ways to solve problems, and combat is really a deadly dance with death, even if you are skilled.

Management type games


Unsplash

When I think of management type games, I'm thinking of running a band of mercenaries, or group of adventurers or even a kingdom or a country. The type of games that I would lump in this sort of broad category would be games like Mount and Blade, XCOM, FrostPunk, Thea: The Awakening and BattleTech.

All of these games set you in a world where you run a group of mercenaries, villagers or special ops forces. In many ways, I would have to say that the XCOM 2 vision of the "management" is one the best, it gripped me to play and then play again with the Long War mod. However, the fact that it had an escalating narrative was something that I found a little bit dissappointing, although, I'm sure that if it was built as a sandbox, I would have eventually found it boring.

The other settings, in an apocoyptic wasteland or an uncaring universe of monolithic Successor States seemed to give a greater scope for a long view sort of sandbox, with no care whether your band was up to scratch or not for a particular choice of mission. So it appears, that I would prefer some sort of a survival game, surving either the environment/universe.

What I disliked about some games (something that I mentioned in my review of BattleTech, was the imposition of artificial limits. If I want to have 6 people in my band of mercenaries/adventurers, then fine, but if I want to have 20, please let me. Likewise, if I want to drop 18 Mechs into a battle, please don't restrict me to 4, without good reason.

My Dream Game


Unsplash

... and so we come to the description of my dream game. The setting is not one that I'm particularly attached to (fantasy/cyberpunk/apocolyptic/space), as long as the universe is one that can support the narrative of a group of adventurers/mercs/villagers just trying to survive and flourish in a world that is completely uncaring to their success or not. Sometimes, there will be easy runnings, sometimes there will be huge challenges, but it is not something that I want to have scaled to my "level".

Even if I have 100 villagers in my group, I want them to be individuals and not cookie cutter templates. Okay, maybe that might be too much to handle, so maybe that there are particular hero/leaders that are really individual in their skills, equipment and personality.

I want every moment to be full of potential disaster or consequences for falling asleep at the wheel, I never want to feel like I'm playing on auto-pilot. My minions could be powerful over time, but they would still be human and faliable. If they make a mistake, then they would suffer the consequences.

I want challenges that don't aways resort to violence as the main way of defeating a challenge. Thea and Age of Decadence do this really well, the resort to violence is really a risky thing, that is likely to end badly for everyone, even the winner.

So, how to describe it... it would be a RPG for a group of survivors/adventurers, set in an open world where the world is not scaled to your particular band. Management and survival against an uncaring universe, clawing out each hard earned victory, never knowing if the next thing will be the challenge that you run away from... (It starts to sound like Dwarf Fortress, with better graphics and better interface!).

... and of course, it would have to be on PC, the only gaming platform that would be able to handle the complexity!


Pixabay

Isn't it beautiful?


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/08/04/my-dream-pc-computer-game/

Sort:  

Once again you impress me. I will read it all later in vegas just quickly giving out some votes.

Thanks for dropping by! Enjoy the gambling or the shotgun wedding or whatever you've gone to Vegas for!

I'm on board!! I think it would be awesome. I have a few ideas. I completely agree the world must be immersive and to storyline sucks you in Fallout and Elder Scrolls series both do that very well. I agree about inventory with Pillars of Earth, there is one I've played thats slightly better...I'm thinking it was Tyranny LOL

I know with MMORPGS the whole idea is to make friends and go out and mostly hack n slash. I miss the days of running dungeons with my friends and actually having to have a strategy. Yet I've had so many moments where I just wanted to fly solo, yet to do some things you have to have a party. I guess that's why I have gravitated towards Fallout and TES series and now Pillars

The issue with MMORPG and other multi-player games compare to solo game for me is the need to schedule time with other people. I remember when I was playing FF XI it was hard for me in Australia because there is no one around in the server until past midnight when players from Japan and Korea will come on. Needless to say, it didn't last very long for me.

Yep... It was okay when you all lived in the same university dorm building... But as you grow up and get families, and spread to all corners of the world...

Tyranny! I did get this recently, but I'm not letting myself play until I'm done with Pillars of Eternity first (that could take a while...)!

I've never clicked with any mmorpgs, even action Rpgs were something that just didn't work for me. Well, that's not true, as a student we would have great diablo nights but I would prefer the Counterstrike sessions... But the constant loot dropping and all the constant fighting of mobs cheapens the RPG part of the experience.

Also as I got older and moved out of the university dorms, it became harder to find times to get together for an all night session...

I was sucked into MUDs really early on so EQ was a natural progression. The main MUD I played on several of the developers were involved with EQ so it was a pretty easy transition. To go from text based to actual characters was mind blowing. I still do the seasons on Diablo 3 I don't have to have a group to do things and can added in the hubby or other friends if they're on. I'm not tied down. I guess that's how I gravitated towards TES and Fallout (and now Pillars :)

I haven't tried Diablo 3 (still never finished 2....), how is it? The last Action RPG I played was VanHelsing (it is pretty good!).

It's similar in a lot of way as basic game play. With D3 it feels a bit more immersive, you can destroy walls and such(not everything ) Obviously much better graphics. You can do seasons (you start over each season), story mode, adventure mode, bounties. You can also increase you difficulty anytime you want without having to start over. The only part I don't like is in story mode it is exactly the same at lvl 1 as it is at 70, just harder mobs. It's great for those days you just want to beat the crap out of things.

I remember why I don't have it! It is behind Blizzard's own store isn't it? I don't tend to fire up anything except Steam...

It is. The thing I like about it is, it's like every other game you by the main version and play. You can play solo or online. The hubby plays A LOT of Hearthstone and about once a month we play D3 together. Of course since Monster Hunter went live on Steam I won't see him for a month or so LOL .

Dream Game? How 'bout gamifying the road to being a Steemit Whale (backed up by statistical analysis of what strategies were the most successful)?

Namaste, JaiChai

That's easy! Be an early adopter and stick it out, or dump in heaps of fiat!

Interesting. I enjoy management games also, they are my favorite after simulation games. I think I will check out the XCOM game it sounds really fun.
My dream game would definitely be the management games

Oh, XCom (do number 2, but number one is also good) reboot was awesome! Streamlining the original vision without losing the complexity. It really is up there on my all time greats! Keep in mind that is designed to be a constant struggle, you really have to earn your success!

As a bonus, it can be played in short bursts as well! Check out the longwar mods if you are for a serious challenge!

The serious challenge sounds fun, I am up.... Thanks 😀

Ah! A gamer from the good old days of games that weren't afraid to kick your butt?

Nice analysis of different game types. Like you I find that very few games hold my attention for more than a few hours.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Thanks! Oh, but when you find a game that does hold your attention! It can be a great thing!

Came to see what's your dream game. Got my answer and some knowledge of RPG genre, which is something I'm still kinda confused.
I really liked party-based adventure since Dragon Age. These are certainly great things to implement in a game!

I loved the original Dragon age, but I recently had a crack at the newer one Inquisition and I bounced off it hard. I really didn't click with the way they implemented the combat (and you were fighting a lot if the time...).

Yep, DA:I is kinda hard to like. Especially the combat and the open world design that, as most people said, feels like an offline MMO. I didn't even care for party composition when I played it, I cared about the companions' banter rather than their classes, which is highly entertaining.

Glad I wasn't the only one! For some reason, the inventory management and equipment comparison was incredibly clunky as well... Not sure why..

You ever play shadow of the Horned Rat? Ugly game (PS1 game originally) but it is the best version of a mercenary game I've ever played, with branching paths and series consequences to what choices you make.

No I haven't, but I just looked it up on Gog, it does look interesting, but are the mercenaries built heavily along the warhammer archetypes? I think I would prefer something where you had greater control on how your minions develop!

Great description of your dream game. If we ever want to design a game of our own, the first thing to ask is what do we enjoy playing and why do we enjoy playing it. Reflecting on our own experience and getting others' experience is a great start for a great game.

Exactly... standing on the shoulders of giants!

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Thanks for your support to one of your newest members!

Your post has been manually curated by the Many Voices Project. The MV Project exists to promote differsity and difference on the blockchain. If you would like to support our work and that of our Founder @sapphic Please consider voting for her witness via steemconnect

Thank you for the feature and resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17