Most Prized Gaming Possession Contest – Dressed to Kill (Video Game Baddies)

gaming tshirts (2).JPG

It is completely impossible for me to pick ONE gaming possession that I treasure the most. All of them come with some sort of memory, some attachment that is usually the reflection of a period in my life.

My ZX Spectrum is gone – sold it to get some money to finally buy the amazing Commodore Amiga – but not forgotten. Ever. And every system that has passed through my hands left some kind of mark, from the Nintendo DS to the PSP or the first Xbox. Not Xbox One, the first, original Xbox, which I happened to win in a contest with ten brand-new, wrapped games: Halo, Dead or Alive 3, Wreckless, Grabbed by the Ghoulies and a few more. It was one of the best days of my gaming life.

I could go on and on about consoles, computers, games, special editions (such as the one I got for The Last of Us, which I absolutely love) or figure (including this cool Star Trek Online golden star ship. But I have other memories that are invaluable to me, memories of a time when I was famous…

… In my geek circle of friends and acquaintances, that is.

gaming tshirts (1).JPG

Almost thirty years ago – I know, I’m old – there was little in the way of video game magazines. Even less if we were talking about newspaper sections, but there was this newspaper that had a weekly section of about two or three pages devoted to gaming. It was exciting when the day arrived, and we knew that we would read about new games, cheats, tips and letters from other players. It was pure bliss for a 14-year-old.

I used to send walkthroughs and draw detailed maps for that newspaper. Eventually I became one of the most published kids, and when something mine was printed, I usually earned a reward for my troubles. Occasionally, I got a package with 10 to 15 brand-new, sealed ZX Spectrum games, and those were really hard to get at the time. It felt special and honestly gave me a sense of pride and some jealousy from my close friends.

This passion quickly escalated into participating in game tournaments, the creation of a gaming website that turned into one of the most popular in Portugal during the 10 years that it was live. If there is one thing that gaming journalists absolutely love is the amount of swag and special editions that they get from the studios. I had my fair share, but I can only imagine what it’s like to work for GameSpot, IGN or PCGamer.

gaming tshirts (7).JPG

Among other memorabilia, we received some T-shirts from specific games. As far as collectable items go, these are almost up there for me, right after game figures. Some of them are kept in mint condition, while others were tried on but never used again – I did use a few of them and I still got some newer models from games such as Resident Evil 7 and Titanfall.

I have T-shirts from Motorstorm (how I loved that game), Syberia 2, APB Reloaded, Doom 3, N-Gage (one of the biggest flops ever), and a few more.

I know that these are worth next to nothing to the common mortal, but they are extremely valuable to me in a symbolic manner. They take me back to a time when I was in a place that many of you think may deem unreachable. It isn’t, and while it takes a lot of hard work to get there – just as with anything else, really –, make sure you treasure it. When you have your kids and look back at those times, when you played video games because it was your job (or part-time job), you will realize how lucky you were.

Cherish the memories, be it a console, game, figure or clothing. And never stop playing.

Follow me on Steemit @gamingstation for more thinking man’s reviews and posts!

If you're a gamer and love great content, join the best gaming community ever, Archdruid Gaming, on Discord

Sort:  

Hi gamingstation,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, that is awesome! :D

You had some great achievements in the world of games! I can imagine your friends being jealous and I hope that you shared some things with them from time to time :)

For me the value is not measured by money only. The most valuable things for me are those that bring me good memories from my life. Even some pieces of my clothes as well. I keep some pieces that are many years old and I never wear them just because they make me think of some great moments that I had while wearing them. Or all my books from my childhood. I store them at home and my mom would love to throw them away but I don't have the heart to do it. They mean so much to me. So I can very well understand how you feel about your T-shirt collection

Thank you for sharing! I'm in the awe of the success that you had at the early stage of your life!

Thank you for your awesome comment! Glad to see you and others understand the sentimental value of such things. And don't worry, I did share a lot of things, especially games, I gave a lot of them to my friends :)

These things are memories of careless times, when my hobby turned into a job - a demanding one that doesn't end when you leave the office, but filled with good things. I regret selling some games cheap in stores to get new games, but I guess we all have regrets of this kind :)

That is a great collection, I have never thought of such collectibles, My passion was baseball caps with different logos, that I was colleting in teenage years, but then I just decided to gift them one after another. But I can understand your passion and this is an something that took so much of my attention, time and of course I gained some friends and it was a fun to exchange some of them with others. Wonderful collection!

We all had our collections when we were younger. I also used to collect soda cans and keychains - one day I decided to throw all the cans in the garbage :D

These T-shirts aren't exactly a collection, but more so items that I grew attached to. Eventually I may get some new pieces, but I mainly intend on keeping these safe :)

Ah~ This post reminded me of the time Magazines was a thing, I had a magazine I followed each Wednesday and it had weekly contests (many of them each week,) I won more than once and it all felt so special to me.

I loved the T-shirts especially the DOOM one.

When we barely had Internet, the day when a monthly magazine came to the stores was a special one, I loved it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76