Survival Horror Moments Contest: Lisa still freaks me out

pt lisa 1.jpg

Although I’m not sure if this qualifies as ‘survival horror’, I wanted to mention the astonishing effect that playing a certain recent game had in my head. In fact, it’s not even a game, but more of a prototype created by a rockstar team that never came to materialize in full: P.T.

Imagined by the twisted mind of Hideo Kojima with the help of Guillermo Del Toro’s cinematic genius and The Walking Dead’s Norman Reedus acting chops, P.T. (which was in fact a playable teaser for the canceled Silent Hills game) was a simple concept amped to a degree like I’ve never seen or felt before.

Very few games were able to instill this pervading sense of dread, this feeling that I should take a break because it’s really late at night and I wouldn’t mind having a good night’s sleep. It managed to evoke the same feelings that both Silent Hill 2 and Fatal Frame 2 did but was able to do so in less than one hour. It tapped into my primal fears of the dark and the unseen, and I’m pretty sure that many players felt the same. One name was responsible for most of this: Lisa.

pt lisa 2.jpg

Lisa is the main antagonist, if I can use that word, and will be haunting you from time to time in the endless corridors and rooms that small house. Her mere glimpse should be enough to scare the pants off of you, especially the first few moments after a strong and effective build-up. Peeking into that small opening of the bathroom probably made you back away from the screen.

The design in P.T. is so simple that almost seems offensive or drafted by someone who wanted to create a game for those exciting 48 hours contests (no sarcasm here, cool games come out of these contests). You walk down a corridor and explore the house, with every loop usually adding something to your run – and you can expect it to be something somber, creepy and unsettling – or sometimes nothing that important. It plays with your mind, making you freak out by expecting a jumpscare or a spooky set piece, but then… nothing. Maybe some scribbling on the wall or red lighting, but no matter how subtle or apparently inoffensive, your pacing is always constricted, you keep your guard up because something may indeed jump in your face.

There is no way to exit the house without facing Lisa; you can’t battle her, and the only way to escape her clutches is by solving some incredibly obscure puzzle that only Kojima could design. It’s not a matter of logic or thinking, but mostly of trial and error, paying attention to what triggered this laughter, to the time on the digital clock, to every detail. The ending of the game is one of unrivalled tension, with nerves shattered and a brooding sense of doom. Lisa’s laughter is a thing of nightmares.

“Why am I still playing this?”, I thought to myself a couple of times when my heart was racing to the latest scare. Peeking around the corner was a jumpscare in itself.

I’m aware that P.T. wasn’t going to be a part of Silent Hills and that it was designed mostly as an interest-gaging demo, but its effect was beyond belief. For its short duration and straightforward design, it still managed to become one of my most memorable horror experiences ever and I’m glad that I was able to go in blind, knowing next to nothing about its design.

As a huge fan of Silent Hill 2 – the greatest horror game of all time, in my humble opinion –, I was hoping that Silent Hills would represent the turnaround that the series desperately needs. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be, and P.T. will go down as one of the scariest, most chilling horror titles that I have ever tried, rating slightly above other dread-inducing games such as Fatal Frame 2 and F.E.A.R. (Alma was creepy as hell).

Play it if you haven’t already, while you still can. It may be somewhat difficult as Konami took down the game, but you may eventually find some fan-project on PC or the like. Believe me, it is worth it for any self-respecting horror buff.

Follow me on Steemit @gamingstation for more thinking man’s reviews and posts!

If you're a gamer and love great content, join the best gaming community ever, Archdruid Gaming, on Discord

Sort:  

Hi gamingstation,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! Always a great way to start your day :D

You survived the horror till the end of the game, so it counts. Lol!

I love your review, its short and concise. That Lisa sure does look scary. So you passed your trial of solving the puzzle? Lol!

I didn't, I had to give up because I wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong or the PC remake that I was playing had some game-breaking bug. But I had enough nightmares anyway :)

Haven't had the chance to try P.T. (it's not available on PC as far as I know.) I'm not sure I can face another horror game while juggling all my other activities.

Still, I want to try it and SH2 (as I only played the first Silent Hell) if I had the chance, maybe I'll do a "First Impression" post about them too.

But do you know a way to get the game?

It may be somewhat difficult as Konami took down the game, but you may eventually find some fan-project on PC or the like.

Konami took down the PC remake I played but a quick search returned another fan remake:
https://www.polygon.com/2018/11/5/18056732/pt-remake-pc-free-download-itchio

Can't say how good it is or if it's even complete, but I suggest you investigate. :)

ooh if I remember this. and in fact spend countless days watching the reactions of the gamers who dared to be recorded playing it.

This is how I get to enjoy these things, through videos or narrated stories. Some day I will be the one who narrates in the first row an experience like this.

We compete in the same contest I wish you the best of luck.

Good luck to you as well, I liked the way you narrated the RE7 experience.

Why did he take the game down? Was it too violent? Or do you know what could be the reason?

I understand that you finished the game? Well, then I wonder if you can still sleep :D These pictures look dark and scary so I don't even want to imagine the rest of the animation. And if you say that it's one of the scariest and most chilling horror titles that you've ever seen, I don't think I would be able to play this game :D

No, Konami forced him to cease and desist.

I didn't finish the last puzzle, I just couldn't figure it out, but saw a video solution and it was so random that I couldn't figure it out.

I like terrine games, especially silent hill.

the appearance and atmosphere of the stage together with the combination of colors also strongly affects our brain, of course the story as such is essential to give the drama but I think that illustrators also bring enough to the aspect and how the games are played with the vision then merit to those people who make those horrifying scenarios that make the heart is about to come out through the mouth :(

Thank you for sharing the publication,

greetings peace and love

I was aware of this game back in the months when I was reviewing the silently hill lores and this too game me the chills from the trailer. I haven't played it but I'll believe the reviews on it are legit worth the scare. Never have I been so convinced about the fright factor as I have seen in the trailer gameplay. It's just sad that this thing didn't go big when it deserved a lot of attention.

Oh, but P.T. did go big. So big that Silent Hills was canceled because of internal turmoil. :(

Howdy there gamingstation! wow I haven't played these and by the way you describe them I'm kinda glad that I haven't! lol. But kudos to those who have the nerve and aren't bothered at night when they're trying to sleep.
This is a great review and a well deserved curie vote so well done!
I assume you do other reviews besides horror games?

Hey there! Thank you for the compliments.

I write about other games as well, including free-to-play games. It's whatever I decide to work in the moment :)

Howdy again gamingstation, thanks for the explanation and keep up the good work!

This is a case of you being in the game yourself. Together such a feeling from a game and still continue, you got to be adventurous and fearless!

Just merely seeing the photos it really freaks one out!
Great post buddy!

Halloween is still in the air I guess lol!
The month of November is the month of Halloween?
Anyways, all celebration will pass and another comes, its just like a weather, it will come and it will go, similar to life, it will pass in the right time. I guess I'm getting serious lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43