1001 places to remember - 1 day in Osaka, Japan

in #archisteem6 years ago (edited)

Here's my foray into the joint contest of @photocircle and @archisteems aptly named, 1001 places to remember.

Let me start off by saying, I LOVE JAPAN!!! I was fortunate enough to get some time to go visit, 7 days and 4 cities in December. Boy, let me tell ya that's not enough time. There's just way too much to see and do! Ok enough about that.

First up is Osaka! Of course, the gem of the city is our first stop, Osaka Castle.

I love visiting historical places, seeing the artistic styles and craftsmanship. I like trying to imagine what it must have been like back then, what the culture would have been like. Anyways, the castle grounds is pretty big but walk-able and open to visitors without having to register. Standing in the shadow of this castle, even knowing it was rebuilt, felt awesome!

Around the castle's premises is a big moat, well a few moats, it's not one gigantic ring of water around the castle. Parts of the moat is now dry, some parts wide and long enough for boat rides while the rest is home to many different species of birds, like this guy (I think it's a duck):

Moving on via train and walking, we saw a variety of shrines and temples but I only got to explore 2 due to time constraints. Here's an image of the dog shrine near Osaka Castle:

and here's one of Tenmangu Shrine:

There so much culture/history that i wanted to see, but I lost the vote, my kids wanted to check out the Osaka Aquarium because the whale shark is one of their favorite animals. So here it is:

Just kidding, that's just the huge sculpture "swimming" up the side of the Osaka Aquarium. It lights up at night, it's really quite pretty. Here a close up of one of the two whale sharks:

Now within the same plaza area as the Osaka Aquarium is a boat ride tourist attraction. A replica of the Santa Maria (the largest of the three ships used by Christopher Columbus to sail to North America). Due to time constraints we didn't go, plus a couple of us get sea sick. Here's a snap:

As it was getting dark and noticeably colder we skipped the huge ferris wheel directly across the plaza from the aquarium.

Plus we had one more stop, Dotonburi. I was really looking forward to the neon signs and sculptured signage while my family wanted to shop. Anyways, it was a lot to see and surprisingly crowded, not crazy crowded but enough to know not to setup a tripod. As a beer lover, I had to take this image:

The yellow neon actually starts from the bottom and rises like filling a glass with beer! I think it's about 4 stories high, so cool! The signage of some of these shops are amazing! Then you get this:

A ferris...oval? Yup this adorns the Don Quijote building. Don Quijote is a shop that sells almost everything, I think, and occupies the whole building.

It was at this point, we all looked at each other and knowingly realized that we only had enough energy to get back to the room. Surprisingly, although we knew we missed out on some experiences, we were completely satisfied with what we did experience.

If you wanna see more, please follow me. I still have Kyoto, Nara and Tokyo to document this trip.

Comments & Critiques are always welcome. As are upvotes and resteems, if you like what you see.

Thanks for viewing and best wishes,

Ray

PS. If you wanna see my other 'works', you can find them here:

http://rayshiuimages.com
http://newbiephoto.net
https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/ray-shiu.html

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Sorry, Steemit is funny today - posted the comment twice 😟 No means of deleting, sorry.

😁 no prob. Thanks for the support!

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rayshiuimages
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=1001-places-to-remember-1-day-in-osaka-japan


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear @rayshiuimages,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you for the support and consideration! I look forward to a favorable response 8-)

Most welcome @rayshiuimages, stay tuned and Steem on!

That was an amazing trip. The city of Osaka has so many to offer and I don’t think I can finish exploring the city within a week. Japan will be my next destination to travel :)

Ya, the places I was able to go are amazing and I know I just barely got to scratch the surface of each city. I'm really hoping I get a chance to spend more time in Japan. Best of wishes to you on your journey! Thanks for the support!

Amazing, it is truly a city that created wonders. Ya, my plan is to drop by around 2020, for the olympics.

WOW that would be so amazing, I'm envious!!! 8-)

Haha, still working on the budget 🤣

I hear ya! Me too, lol.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the Travel Digest #222. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Wow! I'm honored! Thank you for the support!

Osaka looks amazing, thanks for sharing !

My pleasure! Thanks for the support!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73