back to the past - victorian style

in #architecturalphotography6 years ago (edited)



With the past, I have nothing to do;
nor with the future. I live now.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

You must learn some of my philosophy.
Think only of the past as its remembrance gives you pleasure.
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Time allows in all his tuneful turning so few and such morning songs.
Dylan Thomas

I'll just tell you what I remember because memory
is as close as I've gotten to building my own time machine.
Samantha Hunt, The Invention of Everything Else

The past is never dead. It's not even past.
William Faulkner, Requiem for a Nun

One problem with gazing too frequently into the past
is that we may turn around to find the future has run out on us.
Michael Cibenko


Have you ever wondered how nostalgia isn't what it used to be?
Jasper Fforde, First Among Sequels

Hamilton, Ontario




photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lenses 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 50mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018



Thank you @juliank
for initiating the Monday to Friday photography contests.



Sort:  

Oh the stories those buildings could tell. Absolutely beautiful photos @countrygirl. You had a beautiful day to shoot these pictures. The shadows make the buildings seem so mysterious! Well done! (Great visit with the grandbaby? Though now the house is quiet, right?)

Oh...I didn't get to see my grandson. No. It's hard to have a long distance relationship - he's in BC and I'm in Ontario. We were supposed to go out for his birthday but our plans had to be put on hold for a while. I did get a video chat with him though.

Oh, our house is very quiet.

Glad you liked the photos :)

Oh I'm sorry, I misunderstood. Yes our house is very quiet too. I like it although I do enjoy having the kids here. Life in the house is good. I'm sure now that the weather has improved you're out and about getting lots of great shots! All the best to you!

That's okay @birdsinparadise. No misunderstanding. Our house is always quiet. Sometimes too much so. But we get out and do little trips here and there in between writing and taking photos we keep pretty busy :) Oh, our weather has changed dramatically. We did go to summer right away like I thought. No spring weather. Pretty soon I'll be putting the a/c on. We've even had a couple of humid and hot days but cooler nights.

Oh I'm sorry, I misunderstood. Yes our house is very quiet too. I like it although I do enjoy having the kids here. Life in the house is good. I'm sure now that the weather has improved you're out and about getting lots of great shots! All the best to you!

Very nice architecture shots. I like the close-ups and, especially, the clock in that last one. Clocks are always interesting, although the photo with the lamp post is my favorite. What can I say... I seek out lamp posts for photos! The lens flare in that photo of the house is also nice. Every lens handles flare differently. :-)

Those Victorian embellishments and gingerbread are a reminder of a gentler time when hand-crafted details often adorned architecture - Lovely photos and text

Like someone else comment - can you imagine the cost of having this architecture built today?

I really like the sun rays one!

Aw....I'm glad :) Did you notice those roof tiles? They look way better in color but they are amazing.

Some amazing monochrome edifices, Deb:) Bravo:)

Thanks so much Pryde. :)

Great collection!!! I couldn't imagine the cost to reproduce that kind of molding, trim, and facade these days 😱

I know.....especially if they used real material.....and lead and asbestos and what other hazards back then! lol.....do you remember lead in paint? I do. We'd use it and then warn everyone not to touch it. So funny.

I'm sure you've seen reproductions in communities - we have a lot up here....everything is being built like old street houses, duplexes, and detached homes that look like they came right out of the past. But the quality is not there at all.

I love Victorian houses , the history, if walls could talk ? 😊

I know right? I love the shingle patterns on the roofs. Victorian times were pretty tough - I was reading about life during those days....and they had the strangest ideas. I suppose 100 years from now people will look back and feel the same about how we live :)

Yes , I always feel lucky to live in a he present time , because we actually can do whatever we like about building and decorating our houses 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T22:14:27
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 439.44/800.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 1.65% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @countrygirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, your post received 7.54% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69