Skyfire app review and a beyond incredible sunrise photos of downtown Manhattan taken in Hoboken New JerseysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #architecturalphotography5 years ago (edited)

02-midtown-manhattan-empire-state-building-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-20190206-5D3_6295-colonphoto.com

Since I've moved to New Jersey there's been tons of incredible sunsets and sunrises that I've missed out on. But if there was only a way to predict epic sunsets. 🤔Well there is! There's an app named Skyfire (available on Android and IOS).

I haven't shot any cityscape photos for the past month because things have been hectic; and to say I've been itchy to get out there and shoot would be an understatement! Every photographer has their "go to" spots but I haven't found one yet it my new neck of the woods in Essex County NJ. I had a few in Massachusetts (https://colonphoto.com/landscape-photography/every-professional-photographer-has-their-go-to-spots-heres-one-of-mine-ell-pond-melrose-ma) and downtown Boston was only a half hour drive. Plus you can't lose shooting cityscapes where there's water!

downtown-boston-night-photo-long-exposure-01-colonphoto.com-Boston-landscape-2

Last week I stumbled upon an incredible spot in Hoboken New Jersey and I knew this was going to be my new spot. So I started keeping an eye on my Skyfire app to see when it'd be ideal to head out and shoot. And according to the app today was the day!

How it works: When you launch the app it locates you (or you can set a location) and gives you a prediction. Red is a 95% chance of a fiery sky while white means it's going to be overcast.



So yesterday as of 1:30pm the odds were looking very good!





I checked again at 9:50pm and uh-oh...


But I said to myself I'm going to go no matter what and roll the dice. I figured I get up at 4am and drive with Uber to hopefully catch a ride to Newark Airport as it'll get me close to the spot. It was a slow morning and I only picked up 1 local ride so I decided to just head over to Hoboken. But before I went I checked the app and things started looking good again!


Sunrise was 7:01am and I was in Hoboken by 5am looking for parking. The signs were confusing as I wasn't sure if parking was for residents only at all times or only during certain hours. I've already came this far and if I get a ticket I'll just have to eat it.


I started walking to the spot and wow-wa-wee-wa! The Skyfire app was on the money! And for those curious - my new spot (don't tell anyone) is on the campus of the Stevens Institute of Technology.

But there was a problem. Can you guess what it is?


If you guessed branches - you are correct!


Sure I can Photoshop them out - but it'd be time consuming. So I decided to shoot tight and fill the frame.

03-midtown-manhattan-empire-state-building-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-colonphoto.com

Here's another version shot tighter and edited to add more magenta...

02-midtown-manhattan-empire-state-building-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-20190206-5D3_6295-colonphoto.com

Now the above image is what I was aiming to shoot as the Empire State building is iconic and recognizable. But my favorite image by far is this shot!

04-midtown-manhattan-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-colonphoto.com

I love the crispyness (if that's a word) of the photo and another factor that makes me say "wow" are the clouds.

Another anecdote I'd like to share with you guys - is that I was underdressed and freaking freezing! Yesterday was unseasonably warm with a real feel temperature of 50 degrees. It may sound chilly but last week there was a polar vortex where in NJ it was -13 degrees so 50 degrees felt like summer! So I guess my brain thought it was going to be warm in the morning but nay-nay!

Plus the entire time I was hoping not to get a ticket and I decided to call it a wrap and head to the car. Halfway to the car I turned around and HOLY COW - the sky was on fire!

05-midtown-manhattan-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-colonphoto.com

I tried to be lazy and handhold the camera but for best results it's always best to use a tripod. So I unpacked everything and captured this final shot...

06-midtown-manhattan-epic-incredible-winter-sunrise-photo-taken-from-Stevens-Institute-of-Technology-hoboken-nj-colonphoto.com

I wish the sun would have risen right behind the Empire State building as it would have been even more epic. But sometimes you have no choice but to work with what mother nature gives you.

Now that I was super happy with what I captured I just wanted to get into my car to get warmed up. Luckily there wasn't a ticket on my window!


As for my final say on the Skyfire app - truth be told it isn't always 100% accurate but at least chances are good that it won't be a complete waste of time making the effort to head out and shoot. Check out this video where I decided to head out with a 80% - 90% chance of an epic sunset.

When I get some free time, I'll be sure to share other results that I've had in the past using the app.

That's it for now - thanks for stopping by! HUGS

STEEMIT_PLUG
Mikey Colon

👉🏻To purchase prints or to license images I can be reached at:
🌍 www.colonphoto.com
🖥 [email protected]
📞 917-703-0346

I'm available in New York City, New Jersey, Boston and worldwide!

Posted from my blog - check out colonphoto.com for more!

Sort:  

What a wonderful app! I lived at the beach in San Diego for years and saw so many great sunsets. I did not realize how much to ocean was helping until I left. The city is not helpful in reflection.

All this effort your are making sure pays off. I see why your shots are so amazing now. In the one you like, I am interested in all the building shapes. Each is very unique.

I hope things are going better now since all your recent catastrophe. Thanks for taking the time to show us such wonderful sights, @mikeycolon. I love any view of nyc and look forward to many more great ones like this from you.

Fantastic signage too!

Anytime I want to shoot a sunset or sunrise photo - I always look for water. Even if it's at a random area with no landmarks or epic looking scenery - water will always make a huge difference in the photo.

As for effort - it's always hard getting out to shoot. Either it's too early, too hot, too cold - etc. It's a battle of not being lazy.

But seemingly every time I do make the effort - something good always happens. I can't tell you how many times I'll go out to shoot photos and it leads to either sales or other opportunities.

It's supposed to snow in NYC this week and for years I've always wanted to shoot Central Park in the morning. If all goes according to plan and if the meteorologists are accurate - I'm going to get up at 3am and hit the road to make it happen.

As for my favorite shot - part of the reason I really dig it is the fact that most of those buildings are new and it was awesome capturing in awesome looking light.

Thanks for the good vibes and for taking the time out to leave a lovely comment! Have a good rest of your weekend. HUGS!

Central Park! Sniffle. I love that place so much. I love all of Manhattan, Actually. I have visited maybe 10 times for work and vacation but never lived there. I never blinked or slept each time.

@tattoodjay is also there. He is also a photographer - different than you but just as talented. I hope you two might meet up. I think you might be two peas in a pod.

I am in Malaysia now, so I have to gaze from afar. I'm so glad to are working it now and in that spot after Boston. (Not that I have anything against Boston!)

I will try for some water, but we lack it Kuala Lumpur, unless we are having a torrential downpour.

Thanks for the tips and views, and I can't wait to see more.

Next time if you happen to be in town lemme know!

The funny thing is I've chatted with Tattoo Djay last year about linking up but the stars never aligned right on my end.

Plus everything I've seen and heard about Malaysia is amazing! Yesterday I after I visited my mom in Queens, NYC I went to my favorite Malaysian restaurant and took home 4 orders of curry beef laska. My car was really smelly on the way home! LOL

I wasn't too crazy about Boston. It's a lovely city but it lacks diversity. I made a lot of friends there and I still have clients to service out there so I'll be sharing some of my Bostonian adventures in the future.

Thanks for the support and have a good rest of your weekend!

Hi mikeycolon,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome!!! It's good to see your photos again. Cheers!

Thanks man! It's supposed to snow in NYC this week and I've been wanting to shoot Central Park in the morning for over 10 years but every time I talked myself out of it. But this week I'm hellbent on shooting it!

I'll be sure to share it with you guys. ✌️

Well, you put it out there on the blockchain so now you have to do it... haha! Have fun and good luck!

That's why sometimes you have to put things out there so you'll be held accountable! But since I've been in NJ at least 3 times they've said it was going to snow, then they go crazy putting salt everywhere - only for it not to snow. They should really adopt the European model as it's way more accurate.

Yup!
Hmmm, I didn't know about the European model. I know that up here at elevation 6200" the weather forecast is often very wrong....

This is truly amazing! I can't believe there's actually an app to find the most photogenic lights and clouds... The stroke of a genius :) Definitely worth the try, it worked out very nicely for you. Those photos are stunning! Loved every single one of them. Congrats on the well deserved Curie upvote.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@ Zoe Anavid#9686). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out a previous Author Showcase I wrote to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Zoe (@curie curator)

THANKS! It's always delightful getting curated by curie and I must say it's encouraging. Thanks again. :D

Life is what happens between sunrises and sunsets. Thanks for sharing your awesome pictures and your stories. Look forward to your postings!

Thanks - it's like the dash saying.

Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @chucho000 for a chance to receive more free votes!

You are on fire. A review plus those awesome scenes. I really enjoyed reading your blog and I have fallen for your images. Awesome work in there. Keep your fire burning

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks brother!

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic shots and I know that Spot I used to live in Jersey City and went there often

First I heard of Skyfire, I will have to download it thanks for the info

Yea man - it's worth giving it a shot. There's a 30 day trial and after that it's subscription based. Good to see you're still doing your thing on Steemit! We've got to link up now that I'm closer to NYC now!

I saw that, I am not getting out for photos much at the moment so waiting for a little to do the free trial, I see its part of TPE which I already have.

Would be cool to catch up sometime

Yes sir! Let's wait until it gets a bit warmer!

Indeed that sounds a good plan, Winter and a couple of minor health issues has slowed me down things will be better when it warms up

Sounds good - hang in there!

Cheers and enjoy your day

I just had a thought about a couple of Sites in Jersey City area, for good views of the city for your shots, that I used to go to often when I lived there you may know of them but if not you may want to check out Liberty State Park and Exchange place

Cool! I'll keep it in mind. :D

It looks like there is an app for just about any thing these days! Amazing.
Very informative post. Just delightful. So many details, so many aspects to take into account to get the perfect image.
Congratultions for a model post and video.

For real! If you can think of an idea for an app - odds are it's already been done. Thanks for the kind words and support!

Mate... What great photos!!
Congratulations! I'm stunned :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17