Gozitan Antique Tiles


Antique Maltese Carpet Tiles


I'm having a bit of an harummph sort of day so far today. Everything that could go wrong is going wrong.

At such times I find myslef thinking - "I need a holiday" - and if you could wave a magic wand and take me anywhere I'd return to Gozo with John and the kids.

Remember the villa we stayed in in Kercem, Gozo? There wasn't too much to take pictures of inside, except the floors which were well worth a photo or two.

Much of the floor was still covered by the original traditional tiles which are laid in such a way as to mimic a carpet.

Here is a selection of them for your enjoyment. It was difficult to get decent shots as the interior of the villa was pretty dark, as is the custom.

Consequently you will need to expand the photographs to get the full effect. 😊

This was my favourite pattern


Tiles.jpg


Maltese Tiles.jpg


The tiles are usually made from a mixture of powdered marble (the original ones used beach sand), white cement and colour pigment. A mould is used for each specific design and pattern into which the colours are poured one by one and left to set.


Malta tiles.jpg


Each tile is individually made, rather than in batches, so it is a very labour intensive process.


Gozo tiles.jpg


malta tiles 2.jpg


And finally, these are the only modern tiles in the villa. They were no where near as pretty in my opinion.


modern malta tiles.jpg


Ho hum. Beam me up Scotty!

P.S. Looks like the sun's coming out so maybe I'll go to the beach later . . .

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Wow. I really love that

Fascinating the way they are made, truly a labor of love.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 41% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Very nice! Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.454 which ranks you at #2130 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2135).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15