Inside the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal

in #architecture6 years ago (edited)

Last night I went to the Aura light and sound experience that is performed inside the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal. The show is described on the site:

Light unveils the richness of the Notre-Dame Basilica’s heritage and invites us to celebrate its beauty.
The experience begins with a path of lights, revealing the Basilica’s wealth of exquisite works. A progressive immersion into a sonically and visually captivating universe guides visitors to the heart of Notre-Dame.
Then, light, orchestral music and grandiose architecture combine to create a unique, three-act multimedia spectacle.

You can see what the amazing spectacle partially looks like in this video they released:

It was pretty and beautiful. But also expensive. For an approximately 18 minute show, it cost $23. That's about 2x the cost of a movie for 1/6th the run-time :/

There were different scenes, like a nighttime rain storm, cosmic voyage and nature.

Due to copyright restrictions, no one is allowed to photograph the show itself, but for 20 minutes before you're allowed to take pictures of the inside of the old church/cathedral/basilica. So I will show you what the inside looks like, as it's very nice even without the amazing Aura show going on.


Front before show (no color lighting)


Front after show (with color lighting)


Back before show (no color lighting)


Back after show (with color lighting)


Side before show (no color lighting)


Ceiling after show (with color lighting)


Panoramic after show (with color lighting)

Sorry for the extra shrinking of the image. I reduced all image sizes last night before going to bed and zipped them to make a post at work this morning. I didn't think of leaving this one and other portrait sizes larger


Side artwork


I hope you enjoyed a peak inside the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal :)


Here is a pamphlet that contain some historical information on the basilica, if you're interested:


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Looks beautiful! I despise organized religion but the churches in Italy are breathtaking. The ingenuity it took to build those massive buildings without modern equipment is hard to imagine. They are like this one except in every other city around lol

Yup, it's architectural feat is formidable.

howdy @krnel..what a magnificent work of architecture! I think it was worth the price, just to study the craftsmanship is worth the price. Gorgeous photos sir!

Oh man this is so nice. I've been to Montreal. This place is one of the awesome places to visit. Also I loved all the lights coming through the coloured glass windows. Also still remember the feeling of my first step into the place. So overwhelmed.

That's quite the art, I must say. The visuals are really pleasing!

amazing arsitektur... hope i can go there and take some picture. That Great art

Completely off topic here, but I've always been curious to know/ask what your most memorable moment on this platform has been for you? I only ask here cause No other way to reach you that I know well. Anyway, great photos.
Xo

Greetings from Nairobi,Kenya

This is awesome

It is an amazing building. I have been there once. Thanks for the informative post.

A graceful blue light that illuminates high-value buildings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87