Arrow Experiment

in #arrows6 years ago

Hello all!
I wanted to try a few things I've learned online and make some more of my own arrows.

I start with an inexpensive hardwood dowel from the local hardware store.
20180610_111848.jpg

After some light sanding and a red mahogany stain, it looks like this.
20180610_112035.jpg

I applied 2 coats of quick drying, clear polyurethane to seal the arrow against moisture and give it a nice, glossy finish.
20180610_112119.jpg

Cut the nock. (Groove for the string)
20180610_112244.jpg

Cut a few feathers, spliced some together for a 2 toned effect, and put a few more decorations on it.
20180610_112303.jpg

20180610_112214.jpg

I drilled down into the tip and super glued a screw into the hole. Took that to my grinder and sharpend it down to a point.
20180610_112331.jpg

This is the finished arrow...
20180610_112404.jpg

All in all, it turned out pretty good. With a little more practice, I'll have them looking really nice.

Now, let's see how it flies!

Thanks for taking this journey with me! See you in the Feed!! (^_^)

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

You are are so creative and resourceful 13. Good job!

Thank you! (^_^)

Looks like it flew pretty true :) Ready for the apocalypse! I think I'll have my weapon of choice either be a sword or spear, so you can handle the long range stuff :p Also the end looks like the beginning of a horror movie haha.

HaHa!! Sounds like a plan!! And yes, the backyard is creepy at night!! LOL

Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Congratulations @beatking13! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




What a talent! Good post.

Thank you! More to come! (^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97