Steampunk Bunny : Original Character Retouched and Digitalized

in #art6 years ago


This drawing is my most favorite #inktober2018 entry so far and has gotten me to edit it and make it more presentable and appealing to my eyes, establishing a more Steampunk style and dramatic anime take. This is my Steampunk Bunny.

Here's my take on Inktober Challenge with my own prompt. I decided to draw a Steampunk Bunny. At first I wanted it to be a bio-mechanical rabbit but I want to make it more steampunk with a human.

Materials and Tools:

0.03 and 0.05 Drawing Pen
Fine Liner
Sumi Ink and Water
Watercolor Brush
Gold gel pen
Pencil

Here's the original picture of the traditional version. As you can see, there are still a lot of pencil sketches and ink blots. I am a steampunk fanatic and I really want to incorporate it to my arts especially my personal arts. I love the gears and rusty textures on real things and imagery.

Steampunk is a subgenre of science fiction or science fantasy that incorporates technology and aesthetic designs inspired by 19th-century industrial steam-powered machinery. Although its literary origins are sometimes associated with the cyberpunk genre, steampunk works are often set in an alternative history of the 19th century's British Victorian era or American "Wild West", in a future during which steam power has maintained mainstream usage, or in a fantasy world that similarly employs steam power. However, steampunk and Neo-Victorian are different in that the Neo-Victorian movement does not extrapolate on technology and embraces the positive aspects of the Victorian era's culture and philosophy. source

The Rabbit is one of my favorite animal too, for they are so squishy and soft, cute but so fast.

Here's Bimby, our family rabbit

Rabbits are small mammals in the family Leporidae of the order Lagomorpha (along with the hare and the pika). Oryctolagus cuniculus includes the European rabbit species and its descendants, the world's 305 breeds of domestic rabbit. Sylvilagus includes thirteen wild rabbit species, among them the seven types of cottontail. source

I used my picture as a reference on this drawing.


Process of Digitalizing this drawing:

First I scanned the drawing on my sketchbook:
qqq.PNG
I made sure to get a sufficient quality for me to be able to edit it according to my preference.

Then using photoshop, I add filter to this drawing using the "CUT-OUT" filter. This is to make digital-like llines and fills on the drawing it self. Notice the difference
dsfsdf.PNG

I downloaded a gear photo on pexels.com for the background. I edited it a little bit so it would blend well on the subject
pexels-photo-414579.jpeg

I duplicate the subject and make another set of background of of this one.
Modifying the opacity and size.
IMG_20181010_203249_284.jpg

fdfdfdf.PNG

And it's done!

I am thinking of adding some color on it soon.
What do you think?

sdfdfdfgf.PNG


Thank you for dropping by

See my first week's Inktober here:
Inktober First Week Collection



Toggle night mode to see the stars

Sort:  

Good art!
I believe that your post is undervalued and deserves a reward.
I added it to the list of underappreciated posts.

You got it a lot of curation and votes. :) ♥ All deserved.

Awesome art work! I enjoyed that you showed your entire process of the drawing! Keep it up, I hope to see more in the future!

Amazing piece, totally love the breakdown. 😊

I wanted to participate in inktober too, but just couldn't find the motivation. ~paws stress of looming bill payments~

What a marvelous steam punk rabbit! I looked at it with pleasure. And about color... It will be great to make a stain, in the mind it looks well,anyway. Some tone with not so bright saturation... But I think,that your imagination invent better. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Really nice, @aalagenesis :) I think this one is also my favourites out of your 2018 inktober but the month is only half gone... but yes, wonderful to see this brought into a proper steampunk finish <3 Very lovely piece !

Thank you so much :)

Wow, I love this job it looks really amazing. and the style #steampunk is going great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87