The Last Dragon on Earth: Painting

in #art5 years ago (edited)

61692226_998377213692384_606403499059576832_n.jpg

The Last Dragon of the Earth
A Commissioned Painting
On 36" x 24" Wood
Acrylic and Resin


It is one of the painting I made for a long time. The work in progress almost took one year. Motivation and idea were scarce for me, and a lot of pressure and side quest awaited me that time. And I really wanted to finish it. Thanks goodness, I finally got time to finish this beast.

Here's the story behind my painting:

The Last Dragon on Earth: Dragonfly

A dragonfly is an insect belonging to the order Odonata, infraorder Anisoptera (from Greek ἄνισος anisos, "unequal" and πτερόν pteron, "wing", because the hindwing is broader than the forewing). Adult dragonflies are characterized by large, multifaceted eyes, two pairs of strong, transparent wings, sometimes with coloured patches, and an elongated body. Dragonflies can be mistaken for the related group, damselflies (Zygoptera), which are similar in structure, though usually lighter in build; however, the wings of most dragonflies are held flat and away from the body, while damselflies hold the wings folded at rest, along or above the abdomen. Dragonflies are agile fliers, while damselflies have a weaker, fluttery flight. Many dragonflies have brilliant iridescent or metallic colours produced by structural coloration, making them conspicuous in flight. An adult dragonfly's compound eyes have nearly 24,000 ommatidia each. Source

800px-thumbnail.jpgsource

Why do I choose Dragonfly as a subject?

It is said that you possess the power light if your spirit animal is dragonfly. The man who commissioned me this painting is a great man for he is a natural altruist. He helps a lot of friends and people. He reaches their hands and gives them the opportunity to learn and progress on their own. Yes, he is like giving them light in their pathway.

Dragonfly calls you to live your life.

The dragonfly meaning also resonates with wisdom and deep thoughts. Dragonflies are not exactly the biggest and strongest creatures in the world, so every flight they take is perilous and truly unforgettable.

I also believe that dragonflies are the descendants of the dragons. I know this is a silly and childish idea, but it is what runs in my head eversince I saw a dragonfly when I was a kid. I always asked my grandmother if they are the modern dragons, and it fascinates me when I see them fly.

This man, I think also resembles dragon, I can sense his power over people and things he manage. He is a good man.

Read more about dragonfly as spirit animal here


MATERIALS:

And in order to make this painting come into life, we need earth colors.
I prepared the following materials and color:

  • White Paint
  • Dark Blue Paint
  • Yellow Paint
  • Green Paint
  • Gold Powder
  • Large Wooden Canvas
  • Sticks
  • Cup

WORK IN PROGRESS

PART 1

Prepare the materials and canvas on a flat surface. Make sure that the canvas is mounted higher than your working station or table,in my case, since I am working on the floor, I put the canvas above 4 cans so it stay elevated. This is necessary for me to see where the paint will go and so that I can easily lift the canvas on which side I wanted the paint to flow. NOTE: make sure that you cover your working surface with protective paper or cover to avoid a messy station. Remember that pour painting is messy but fun.

Just like my other pour painting, I put the colors on one cup without fully mixing them. I used these colors to make an earthly color combination: green, blue, brown and white

Pouring is the next step. You can just pour the cup on any surface on the canvas.


Next thing to do is to let the paint dry overnight. You will also notice that your poured paint might change position especially when your surface has thick paint mixture on it.

Background

DETAILS:

One of the good things you can get from painting in large canvas is appreciating each small details as if they can already stand alone on their own and represent a different story in the painting itself.
Here are some of my favorite parts of this painting:


(The result of the pour painting was satisfying for me since I like the background to resemble Earth )


PART 2

Once the surface of pour painting has been dried out, it is now time to pour some resin on top of it. But before that, I used some gold and white paint to add accent to the background.

And then I pour the first layer of the epoxy resin.

Note: Mix equal parts of solution A and B in one cup, enough to cover the whole surface. Where mask to avoid inhaling the resin. Also, use gloves to protect your hands. Resin is hard to wash, if it happen to touch your skin use isopropyl alcohol and soap to remove.

I cut out shapes of dragonfly silhouettes from a piece of white paper.
These silhouettes were placed on the first layer of dried resin. And then another layer of epoxy resin was poured on the painting.

I just waited for the whole piece to dry.
And it is finished !


I hope you all like it!

Thank you for dropping by

Sort:  

So beautiful thank for sharing my friend

Another incredible masterpiece. Thanks for sharing this article. Astig!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Wow, thank you so much for this opportunity. It's my pleasure to be featured in the author's showcase

I like it. except maybe pale violet for dragon' body.

Thank you. The pale violet is actuallg white and became translucent when I pour on the resin. Thanks for noticing

Thank you

The pale violet part is actually the translucent white effect when I added the resin :) thanks for noticing

Another rendition would be a Komodo Dragon for the Last Dragon on Earth. Kidding aside, how do you make an artwork using resin? I am just wondering.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I haven't thought of that! Thanks for suggesting :)

I just pour the resin on the canvas :) whenever I wanted colored resin, I add some tint ;)

That sounds very interesting! 😆

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared !

Hi aalagenesis,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much Curie, It's such an honor

hi @aalagenesis
beautiful painting !! the colors are the most exciting thing! I like to see all the steps of the process until the final result !!
How come you were stuck so much before finishing it?
Do you do it for passion or for work? congratulations on your curie vote and thanks for sharing

Hello @road2horizon, I am happy to know that you like to see the colors and steps :) Thank you so much

It was so large for me and I was really thinking what to do with it that it wouldn't appear like a plain pour painting, I wanted a bit of my touch an a form inside of it. I was thinking of something big to be put onto that and use the background well that it will blend to the subject that I am thinking,.

I also don't have much time to do the painting because I am living away from my original home (my parents home actually) where that canvas was. I go home once a month so I just got a little time to think and do it.

But yeah, it is now finished :)

I do it for passion, I have a corporate job. If people let me do their painting, I accept it too but it also takes time to finish because I wanted their aura to be seen and felt on the painting

it's very nice what you say! I hope you will always have more commissions to express your creativity. good luck :-))

Thank you so much again :)

It takes a lot of patience to continue same thing for a year. And the final outcome is really great! @aalagenesis

The closeup shots, strokes and the in depth explanation. I liked it. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you so much @bloggerkrunal :) There's a lot of pressure and hiatus through out that year but thanks goodness you like the outcome :)

Thanks again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31