They tell me it's art - 15 sculptures for your viewing pleasure

in #art6 years ago

I've been cycling past these for a while now, and today I decided to stop and photograph all 15 of them.

title.png


Art up Cala Millor - yeah cause they need something to look at...

Cala Millor, my current home, is on the east coast of Mallorca and is one of the Balearic Islands, also off the east coast of mainland Spain. It is a tourist sweet-spot over the summer months and welcomes, in the main, a mix between English and German people. The resort is getting busier by the day - or so Tinder tells me.

You can expect soaring temperatures, a huge beach, and plenty of bars and restaurants, some of which I will be frequenting for the World Cup, starting next week. What they don't tell you in the tour guide is that in 2016, the mayor decided to slap 15 hunks of stone and/or metal along the promenade.

Personally, I like looking at the sea as i cycle down the coast, but apparently, the Mayors brother is an artist (Mum, I cannot find a single reference to this being the case by the way). And what better way to showcase your brothers works, than to block the view of the sea and present them to every visiting tourist.


15 works of Art

There is little on google in English with regards to these pieces, but I found this and translated it from German:

The popular tourist resort in the east of Mallorca has now been artistically enriched. A total of 15 works by the Spanish sculptor Pedro Flores were installed on the promenade between Cala Millor and Cala Bona. Shown are quite everyday objects, such as beds, windows or sofas.

The artist wanted to show in his sculptures intimate and living spaces. Many walkers used the artistic structures in the immediate vicinity of water for unusual photo opportunities. The stone and metal works can be seen on the promenade until July 2017. (Ac)

July 2017 they say...

Anyway, on with the show.

1. Arc De Triomf

1.jpg


2. Front Door

2.jpg


3. Flip-flop

3.jpg


4. Flat to Rent

flattorent.JPG


5. Lovers Seat

5.jpg


6. Garden Sofa

6.jpg


7. Housing Solutions

7.jpg


8. Sea Views

8.jpg


9. My Favourite Spot

9.jpg


10. Room

10.jpg


11.Oh! If I could speak (a bed)

11.jpg


12. Let the light come in

12.jpg


13. 3-D Gaze

13.jpg


14. International award for design (Erm, sofa/bed?)

14.jpg


15. Lounge Sofa

15.jpg


So there you have it. 15 hunks of stone and metal that are available for purchase - some of which are in the tens of thousands of Euros.

What do you think? Time for them to go, or a nice feature for a stroll along the promenade?

First person to tell me how many images my bike appears in wins 2 SBD


Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

I feel like when someone looks at soemthing like this they try to see the emotion and reasoning behind why the person may have made it this way and connect with it , that can be where it can be seen as an art

I don't feel much emotion for iron and stone - but i'm a self-confessed art neanderthal :)

I see some of those and I think “I want sit on them” not buy them. It’s always great when an area try to add something unique and that has purpose and fits somewhat with an area.

I counted 4 times if the cover image is included since it has some photos that are the same.

4 is correct :)

I guess I'm being a bit harsh, but is the sea view not enough? :)

Depends of how big of a tourist trap it is. It’s never enough if it’s filled with them! It’s just something to include in there visit. Oh look at the local culture this place if filled with along the shore!

We got some nice quite beaches for the locals here. They don’t know about them. They would be lost in them. There are no life guards to save there sorry butts when they don’t pay attention to riptide warning! Sometimes we say there are sharks there so they stay away hehe.

It's a major tourist trap - i'll probably do a tour during the peak.

LOL Sharks. Well considering the riptide and lack of lifeguards, you are probably doing them a favor :)

I don’t dare go down to Daytona Beach when it peaks during an event. Even if it is nice they have food trucks, and bunch of other things set up along the beach. Could end up stuck on the highway for hours bumper to bumper. Even the locals will come out in droves to see Bike Week or a big race.

I’ll sometimes go down there for firework shows since they bring in barges filled fireworks with them and put on a good show. No driving on the beach when that happens though. You are already shoulder to shoulder with people blocks out and they tend to have roads for a fair distanced block off.

4, if including collage! If I win, please send to @davemccoy for the newbie/minnow contest. :)

I did not expect this art post from you!

@enjar pipped you to it, sorry! :)

Yeah, first and last I think!

Grrr, I should not have taken the time to do a double count.

No, not last! @osm0sis hasn't been posting much so I miss the beautiful views there. I love the ocean view!! Some of those art pieces are too bulky and really should not be blocking the ocean view. They are cool pieces though, but art isn't my expertise. I like "Let the light come in", a doorway of sorts to the beautiful ocean beyond.

sorry!

Yeah the window/door ones that can create a boarder for a photo I don't mind, but the bed? And the megalithic tardis? meh

Hehe, I agree that those can go. I guess it would be okay if they placed it a less conspicous area like an inside gallery for the true art lovers to enjoy. Whyever did they have such a big metallic piece like the "room" positioned to block that beautiful view?

Why ever did they have such a big metallic piece like the "room" positioned to block that beautiful view?

This one is terrible!

These pictures rock. Also, the obvious answer to your question is 17.

haha, most of them certainly do.

I believe 'Room' is going for 60000 Euros. I'll offer 17, if I can keep it where it is and they finish the job.

So I could trade my Steemit account for that rock? Where do I sign up? That sounds like a great deal.

Apply some wishful thinking, along with a bright future; and that photo there might be worth that much some day. Cross your fingers!

There is a phone number and an email address on each piece if you'd like to inquire?

That much? I'll go back tomorrow and get one in focus then!

I actually really like a number of them and a few not at all.

I find it ironic that "Sea Views" is actually blocking the sea view. 😂

I might have to come and see them for myself now you've given away where you live.

No chance right now though. It will soon be way too hot for me if it isn't already!

I'm guessing 4 for the bike! 😊

4 was correct but @enjar was the speediest!

I find it ironic that "Sea Views" is actually blocking the sea view

Yup! :D I suppose you could post on a few of them and still capture some of the ocean.

26 today, perfect temperature :D

You're right @abh12345. That is a perfect temperature. Does it get a lot hotter in July and August? 😊

Yeah the temperature should be well into the 30's by then! :D

And that's when it gets too hot for me @abh12345. 😊

Sorry couldn’t get any further than Tinder 😁😁👊
Great pictures!
Already been to Naan?

haha :D

Naan bread? Vietnaan?

Just Naan in Palma de Mallorca.
It is more street food.
https://www.naanstreetfood.com
Trust me on this one!

I'll need to head into the city, it's about an hours drive from here. On my list!

haha that one stopped me in my tracks too :)

Actually, @abh12345, I prefer the natural sea view beauty. It is not that I don't appreciate art, I like it in its place, a gallery, museum or other public building where you are free to gaze and admire it to your heart's content. I prefer nature o be left untouched or un-improved for the masses.

Am am with you here :)

I suppose art is in the eye of the beholder. Sure, there's some "clever" use of stone and metal... but there are so many of them that it becomes a bit contrived to me. And they are for sale? The BIG problem with that (thousands of Euro notwithstanding) is that many of them are location dependent. They will have a completely different feel in the back yard of your house luxury estate.

I remember Mallorca from childhood (1970s)... lots of Germans baking themselves lobster red on every square inch of beach. Sounds like things haven't changed much.

Anyway, maybe 3-4 of them as permanent installations would be fine, but all of them as a for-sale art show? Not so much.

Yeah they are all for sale, and the prices I hear are pretty hefty.

The seats and some of the windows are ok I suppose, but I agree that 15 is contrived.

And yes, lobster red is still the most popular colour here!

First of all I had no idea the water was the awesome turquoise color in Mallorca. I like maybe 1 or 2 of them, but too many blocks the view. I'm with you on that one! Lol I like the name "housing solution" that you came up with

Yes in the summer and when the sea is calm the water is a lovely colour :D

Actually, 'housing solution' is what was written on the card attached to the sculpture - I think they translated directed from Spanish and this one didn't work out so well!

Pity where i am has not been that sunny all week. I like the art. Its trendy. Better than bits of rubish tied to string or paintings done with obscure body parts 😎

Bummer!

It's been nice here the last 2/3 days. Hopefully you'll get a good one tomorrow!

Nice today, im like a lobster ☀. 2 days left. Not home till tue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20