Bahama Breeze | VectorArt by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__0010_PalmTree2.gif

Today I wanted to share something a little different than my usual digital paintings. As some of you may know, I have a very strong design background and work in the commercial design (graphic design) world for many years early in my career. My specialty became branding and logo design. With that, I was able to master vector graphics and later apply that to my fine art. This piece, Bahama Breeze, was one of my first explorations into my VectorArt creating an image completely from vector shapes. As with all my artwork, I use reference photos, but the piece as a whole is an original composition with no "photo filter". This process is very different than my digital paintings and I'm essentially creating thousands and thousands of little shapes that when viewed from afar appear like an actual image. Comparable to a hybrid impressionistic process this is the same principle some of the greatest artists that ever lived used such as Claude Monet.

The difference between vector and raster graphics is that raster graphics are composed of pixels, while vector graphics are composed of paths. A raster graphic, such as a gif or jpeg, is an array of pixels of various colors, which together form an image. A vector graphic, such as an .eps file or Adobe Illustrator file, is composed of paths, or lines, that are either straight or curved. The data file for a vector image contains the points where the paths start and end, how much the paths curve, and the colors that either border or fill the paths. Because vector graphics are not made of pixels, the images can be scaled to be very large without losing quality. Raster graphics, on the other hand, become "blocky," since each pixel increases in size as the image is made larger. This is why logos and other designs are typically created in vector format -- the quality will look the same on a business card as it will on a billboard. – PC.net

Thumbnails__0010_PalmTree_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__0010_PalmTree_4.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

Sort:  

Great work! I've never heard about vector graphics before. The way you described it, it sounded like the way paper money is designed. The graphics is made up of lines right?

Thank you… Yes, the process is similar. It is a bunch of lines that are mathematically defined. Thank you for your comment and appreciate your interaction. Glad you were able to learn something.

Sweet, thanks for the tutorial on vector vs raster graphics! :)

amazing photo mate... would be cool

to zoom out then zoom back in on a pixelated pic... kind of bouncing effect...

That is a great idea, I wish I knew how to accomplish that. Probably in after effects… If I created something like that, I will make sure to let you know. Appreciate your comment

good picture and very fit in the room. has a high philosophy. I salute your post

Thank you very much!

besides having many advantages, coconut tree is also beautiful. you got my upvote :)

Thank you, much appreciated!

Wahh love it brother, looks insane as usual. I'll assume you'll do all my future paintings when it's time to move to a new apartment in a couple of years 😉

Would be honored my friend, presuming I have the time!

Am also into design but unlike you I just started designing..
Hope to learn more from you

Awesome, would love to see some of your work and happy to help give you any pointers. Feel free to ask and please keep in touch!

This is so cool. Definitely makes me wish I was lying on a beach under a palm tree right now!

Yes, that's the exact feeling I had when creating. Thank you for your comment, much appreciated!

Up voted this great work amazing very detailed keep up the great work.

Thank you, really appreciate your vote and complement :)

Amazing work.. very well explained about vector and raster graphics.. I learnt something new from your post.. Thanks for sharing :)

Awesome, glad to hear you were able to learn something new. That is what it's all about!

True that.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94