James Blunt | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__0004_james_blunt2.jpg

"If music be the food of love, play on" – William Shakespeare. For as long as I can remember, I have had the same love of music that I have had for art. I suppose that is the creative side of the brain showing its dormancy. With this love of music, I have created an entire series dedicated to painting musicians. One of my favorite experiences was painting James Blunt. He had a scheduled concert in our area and I thought what better way than to honor him but to try and present him with this painting. Lo and behold, one of his managers saw this painting and invited me to meet him. I am a fan of many different genres of music, but this experience was something special. In fact, not only have I gone on to paint more musicians but I have actually shifted my career a bit and I own a music venue in South Florida now. James is no longer touring to my knowledge, but maybe one day I will get the chance to see him again at my own venue, truly coming full circle.

James Hillier Blount (born 22 February 1974), better known by his stage name James Blunt, is an English singer-songwriter and former British Army Officer. He originally signed to EMI Music Publishing and is currently signed to Custard Records and Atlantic Records. Blunt rose to fame in 2004 with the release of his debut album Back to Bedlam, achieving worldwide fame with the singles "You're Beautiful" and "Goodbye My Lover". The album has sold over 11 million copies worldwide, topping the UK Albums Chart and peaking at number two in the US. "You're Beautiful" was number one in the UK, the US and a dozen other countries. Back to Bedlam was the best-selling album of the 2000s in the UK. Blunt has sold over 20 million records worldwide. He has received several awards, including two Brit Awards—winning Best British Male in 2006—two MTV Video Music Awards and two Ivor Novello Awards, as well as receiving five Grammy Award nominations. Blunt was a reconnaissance officer in the Life Guards, a cavalry regiment of the British Army, and served under NATO in the Kosovo War in 1999. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate for Music in 2016 by University of Bristol.

Thumbnails__0004_james_blunt_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__0004_james_blunt_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider a re–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

Sort:  

Is there a way to create this kind of painting over an actual photo? I think it's an easy way to start for a beginner. It might seem like cheating but I imagine you're still painting but following the looks of a superimposed actual photo. You're not filtering the actual photo but rather drawing on a layer on top of it. I've done this on paper before. BTW. What's the name of the software again? Thanks!

That painting looks really cool.. I love his music, but have not listen to any for ages.. it is always sad music and right now I do not need to listen to stuff to make me feel down.. but nice work.

Hello there… I am sure you can run an automated filter to achieve a similar effect, But everything I have found Looks very "Fake". With my process, I am creating from scratch while Using a reference photo to achieve proper proportion and detail. This is all done in Corel Painter with the final touches and correction in Adobe Photoshop. Always appreciate your comments and support my friend!

I'll remember Corel Painter (actually sounds familiar - Corel Draw?)I'll check it out. Thanks for the reply.

Love this

looks more original

exactly

its great to see your art work..
splendid bro...

Wow! Looks real....its a for awesome man!

This comment has received a 2.02 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @xerox-bru.

Yes
Right

Nice painting, looks great!

This comment has received a 0.64 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @suffragator.

Looks so real

Great post and great picture!

The fact that the body itself is an instrument, with rhythms, sounds, cycles, tones, chords, etc., makes music from outside sources all the more important to our general health and well being.

Yes, I suppose you are correct, the body can accomplish many things :)

would so much love to see more of this, am following you now. This is so incredible i love music too... And that's what attracted me to read this post. Nice one great art work, wish i could paint Even a bit close to yours :)

Thank you, many more works coming. Appreciate you following and your support. I have followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71