Sunday Sailing | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__sunday_sailing_large.jpg

"If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable." – Lucius Annaeus Seneca. This particular painting used to be my Sunday ritual in my younger days. Depicted is Lake Catherine, located in my neighborhood, and every Sunday a group of retirees would gather to race sailboats… Miniature sailboats. Yes, not only is this a hobby, but also quite the gentleman's sport. Every Sunday I would join this group of avid sailors and bask in the offshore breeze. I have yet to find something more relaxing to this day.

These model boats are EC12's. The class is one the premier R/C Yachts in the American Model Yachting Association. The Class is well organized energetic and active with over 400 members hosting over 20 two-day sailing regatta throughout the East Coast and the Midwest. The posted sailing schedule is 12 months a year. Local clubs offer additional weekly and monthly club events. You can find out more info here : http://www.ec12.org/

Sailboats use the power of the wind acting on sails to propel the boat. Model sailboats are typically controlled via a multi-channel radio transmitter in the hands of the operator with a corresponding receiver in the boat. By changing the position of the two joysticks on the transmitter signals are sent over two separate channels on a single radio frequency (assigned to the individual boat/operator). On the boat, the radio receiver is connected to two battery-powered electric motors or servos. Signals from the radio transmitter are interpreted by the radio receiver and translated into instructions to change the position of the servos. One servo controls the position of both main and jib sails together (allowing the sails to be trimmed), the other the position of the rudder (allowing the boat to be steered). This allows you to perform the fundamental movements of sailing known as tacking. Tacking or "coming about" is a sailing maneuver by which a sailing vessel, whose desired course is into the wind, turns its bow toward the wind so that the direction from which the wind blows changes from one side to the other, allowing progress in the desired direction. The opposite maneuver to tacking is called jibing or wearing on square-rigged ships, that is, turning the stern through the wind. No sailing vessel can move directly upwind, though that may be the desired direction, making this an essential maneuver of a sailing ship. A series of tacking moves, in a zig-zag fashion, is called "beating" and allows sailing in the desired direction.

Thumbnails__Sunday_sailing_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__Sunday_sailing_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider are–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

As my account grows, it is becoming more difficult to reply to every comment. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will do my best to respond. I can guarantee I at least read every comment given. I am dedicated to spending a full-time effort on this platform. Everything posted on my profile (@abrockman) is 100% original content and exclusively shared on steemit. Any reproduction of my work without written consent is strictly prohibited. Please remember the best way to grow our community is by producing outstanding original content of your own to share with all of us.

Sort:  

What a beautiful and serene sunset painting! The lighting is really well portrayed in this art piece, and it really matches well with the color scheme of the room it is in. Do you actually sail as a hobby?

Man, this is absolutely beautiful! Extremely well done! Please don't stop making art! I'm more into photo, but I also love paintings and art.

Such gentle colors! And a romantic atmosphere.

Beautiful

When I saw it for the first time, I thought it is a photograph, then I realized it's a painting.

Super talented, It's wonderful and I loved it :D

Thank you very much, really appreciate your kind words and that I was able to "fool" your eyes :) That is the best compliment I can receive.

excellent....sky is very eye catching.....

Good photography @abrockman

That's a great art. It look like a real image until we look very close

Thank you for your compliment and comment!

So beautiful. Makes me feel good, just by looking at it. Amazing how much power art has in the hands of a Master!
(upvoted and followed)

It is just unbelievable. Thinking of how much time did it take to create such a masterpiece!

Thank you, yes, each of my Digital paintings take approximately 40 hours. I am sharing my work from many years of creating :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83