Trophée des Alpes | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

in #art6 years ago

Thumbnails__Trophee_des_Alpes_large.jpg

"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others." – Pericles. This was a private commission for a dear friend of mine to honor her heritage. After growing up in the same town as this Roman monument, she always wanted a painting to capture what she saw every day out her window growing up. In turn, I began to research the history and was equally intrigued by the importance of this structure. I feel my best work is when I can connect with the subject matter on a deep level, and although I have never seen this in the flesh, I feel like I have through a distant memory. Painting rigid architecture isn't necessarily the hardest thing, But capturing it's essence surely is.

The Tropaeum Alpium (Latin 'Trophy of the Alps', French: Trophée des Alpes), is a Roman trophy (tropaeum) celebrating the emperor Augustus's decisive victory over the tribes who populated the Alps. The monument's ruins are in La Turbie (France), a few kilometers from the Principality of Monaco. Augustus Caesar (23 September 63 BC – 19 August 14 AD) was the founder of the Roman Principate and considered the first Roman emperor, controlling the Roman Empire from 27 BC until his death in AD 14. He was born Gaius Octavius into an old and wealthy equestrian branch of the plebeian gens Octavia. His maternal great-uncle was Julius Caesar.

The Trophy was built c. 6 BC in honor of Augustus to celebrate his definitive victory over the 45 tribes who populated the Alps. The Alpine populations were defeated during the military campaign to subdue the Alps conducted by the Romans between 16 and 7 BC. The monument was built of stone from the Roman quarry located about 500 meters away, where traces of sections of carved columns are visible in the stone. The monument as partially restored is 35 meters high. When built, according to the architect, the base measured 35 meters in length, the first platform 12 meters in height, and the rotunda of 24 columns with its statue of an enthroned Augustus is 49 meters high.

Thumbnails__Trophee_des_Alpes_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__Trophee_des_Alpes_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. If you're looking to go the extra mile in helping me on my journey, also please consider a re–steem so I am able to reach your audience. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

Sort:  

Now a days digital painting become an essential part presentation and creative work. This type of art work is very difficult.

agree with you !

Thank you, that is very kind of you and I appreciate the compliment.

Oh, I really like it! So comfortable. Thank you!

Beautiful. The colors look stunning.

We need to bring back this kind of art, I'm not really into contemporary art

To each their own I suppose… Contemporary art has its place, but it's ultimately up to you in whatever you can Connect with.

looks original

Really she was awesome painter and What a art she had!!!!!!This is veryhelpful historical data and knowledge.

best of luck.plz give me one upvot

nice pics! very atmosferic)

You pictures are just as beautiful as history. Thanks for taking me back in time.

best of luck.plz give me one upvot

You are welcome, thank you for your comment!

Beautifully painted. Roman structures are really the best out there.

Agreed, the architecture is unrivaled. And to withstand the test of time. Thank you for your comment, I have given you a follow :)

thank you so much! I followed too! Looking forward to more of this.

Not only your art, but also your words show your passion for your work! Great stuff bro!

Thank you my friend, always appreciate your feedback!

Beautiful painting work! At first, I thought is was photography. Thanks for the history behind it, too.

Thank you, that is a very nice complement and always great to hear. Thank you for your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79