Evil Clown Portrait Practice

in #art6 years ago

extra.JPG

It's been a long time since I used my tablet for digital drawing. The first 5 minutes felt like using the device the first time. Naturally, the feeling that my end result will be crap persists. Not that my previous works were any better. So I tried entering this challenge seems like a productive way to use my practicing time while trying something new.

I have 3 goals in this attempt.

Practice
Use both SAI and Photoshop
Have an entry for the contest

Tools:

Photoshop
Paint Tool SAI

Below is the step by step process of the piece. There were a lot of changes along the way. I improvised as needed since some parts required skill beyond my level to render. So I just stuck to what method I can until I get it right next time.

7.jpg

The End Piece

1.JPG

The Sketch

You can see that there is a marked difference with sketching and adding colors. I have a lot to cover when it comes to colors and values.


2-1.JPG

3.JPG

At this point, I transferred my work to Photoshop, thinking the extensive selection of brushes would save this piece. I knew this decision wasn't going to be the last of my mistakes :P

4.JPG

5.JPG

You can see the step by step process of my giving up on rendering details not within my skill level. I immediately regret not taking those coloring lessons seriously.

6.JPG

The experience was frustrating considering all the months that passed without any skill progression. I was living the life of a med student working in a hospital. There was no room for this kind of hobby until I reach a reassigned rotation where there was more room for vacation (already in that rotation, and thus this post).


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SteemArtistsBanner_smllSquished-NOTAGLINE.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Adamada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The clown is a nightmare. I feel that I'd be jolted out of dreamland if I ran across this guy in my sleep. Should I say good job for making it scary? It was the point of this picture, right? (I really can't look at it for too long, really scary...)

Thank you for the complement. Inspired by years of watching horror films and art works. It definitely is something that could wake you up or send you into a nightmare. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87