Creature Design : Cyclops dragon

in #art6 years ago

Last time, I posted an Elven woman character design, this time I'll post the dragon the she summon.

The creature is a young mysterious/ magical one-eyed dragon (like a cyclops) with a long tail, that is being summoned by the elven woman. The eye glows and its wings produces a green fire magic as it flies.

5nu74ck8u9.jpg

Since the dragon is still young, but not the infant type, I decided that the ratio of their height would be like this:

2ubwyc8nuz.jpg

Process

  • (1) Sketch

fec8r70o4w.jpg

  • (2) Base Color
    And since it is in forest setting, I decided to make the dragon green and somewhat able to camouflage to trick the enemies

02gm2opduv.jpg

  • (3) Fixing the colors

ktx1e7dtzy.jpg

  • (4) Plotting the part where I'll put the green fire magic

tfhglk9sau.jpg

  • (5) Fixing the wing part, I decided to make it teary edges for more personality

opmuicn1s4.jpg

  • (6) I plot where the glow would be

ve1u99neuv.jpg

  • (7) But decided to remove the one on the edge of the wings, I didn't like the result. I paint further details on the face

7kygcit3qw.jpg

  • (8) I added the glow. It's not visible in a white background, so I included a dark background as well.

0rzholp4lh.jpg

5nu74ck8u9.jpg

All Artworks Copyright @adelair - All Rights Reserved

So, I don't actually draw dragon, so most of the time was spent studying their anatomy XD

Next post will be a scene Illustration of elven woman and dragon

fwpas11k7p.jpg

I hope you'll stay tune. See you again next time!

Adelair

Sort:  

Congratulations @adelair! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a beautiful dragon, Adelair! Thanks a lot for sharing this drawing!

Oh you made her companion, Adelair. That is pretty nice, a cyclops dragon :D.  
                       
I like how shiny green you made part of its wings, it kinda looks like zombie dragon because of the colours ^^.        
                       

i wish i could draw dragons that good... I really like the dragon's design. Nice! Good job


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You did a great job with a dragon! I can imagine it flying around in a Harry Potter movie :)

I like the design of the dragon ! And the colours are really nice too <3 the way it tucks its arms in is super cute <3 Wonderful step by step, as usual :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16