Skin Tones For Beginners

in #art5 years ago

If someone had asked me 15 years earlier about the number of colors used to paint a person’s face, my answer would simply be 1. This is one of the benefits of growing up, realising how WRONG you were :P

Understanding tonal value while painting faces or parts of human body takes a lot of practice and testing of colors. I have only recently learnt some basic colors which are used and experimented them in a portrait of Phoebe Tonkins.

792ED63F-62D6-439E-A846-4E4991D907FD.jpeg

While surfing for some more videos on skin tones, I found this one and to be honest this is by far the best one I have come across. It has been divided into 3 major categories: Caucasian, African-American and Native American, Hispanic & Indian. The ratios for each one of them along with the specific mixes have been laid down very clearly and I also learnt about the existence of physical view finders. (That was a blessing)

Of course they are not the only colors used on a face but I felt pretty confident for bases at least. I also like using payne’s grey or ultramarine blue for shadows because I feel it adds such a dramatic feel to the values. And another great way of making yourself familiar to the battlefield is first trying a monochrome one. It’s works like magic no matter what the field of study is!

Pinterest has served to be a paradise for finding fantastic portrait references either for sketches, illustrations or paintings. If you guys want some good portrait references you can check this link. I will keep sharing my progress on this and at the same time would love to know what methods you guys prefer for portraits :)

02824C40-DCD2-4D27-8931-85FF875954A7.jpeg

Sort:  

I prefer starting an underpainting with entirely different colors like green, purple and burnt urmba. After it gets dry, I block in with the original colors of my model - I use burnt urmba, yellow orcre and burnt siena and a combination of two or three of them depending on the skin tone of my model.

So how is that underpainting with entirely different colors help?

  • It allows you to explore other techniques of painting.
  • It allows you to recognize the underpainting clearly thereby filling the second layer completely without.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, I have only done that once and never mustered up the courage to do it again! I should properly look into that technique soon :)

Yeah you should give it a try once again. If you do it repeatedly, you would used to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Will do :) Can you make a post about it sometime? I have no clue on how to start from different colors!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Alright. Will do that when next I do oil paint work.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 17.66% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87