Post #2 - What I think about while drawing

in #art6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Today I want to talk with you about the thought process behind this piece. Usually I don't get much chance to talk about the thoughts and worries behind the drawing. That's why this skill of mine is underdeveloped. I would like to share some of it with you, and if in case you are not interested in my blabber just enjoy the drawing :)

centaur3.jpg

This piece started as a painting practice, I was struggling with it at that time. So, in order to fix the situation I did some black and white studies, and decided to finally challenge myself with a design of my own. I decided to start with a something familiar and fairly easy. Centaur is recognisable almost by everyone, but how can I make the design more exiting. With certain ideas comes certain restriction.

centaur_line.jpg

What if Centaurs would exist in other places too like Africa for example? This little geographical twist was exactly what I needed, and so my research for the piece started.

First, I needed to switch the horse part to a local four-legged animal. Antelope was my choice. I didn't take gnu, but a smaller antelope nyala with a nice pattern. To unify both parts better, human and antelope, I borrowed features from nyala and added to human part. That's how he got his ears, horns and white patterns on his face.

centaur_b&w.jpg

The next step was to decide how much culture I want to show. In general centaurs are portrait in mythological or fantasy setting. That means that the technology is not too advanced. For the inspiration and references I used different African tribe jewellery designs. I decided not to use traditional spear but to create something of my own. The purpose was to bring viewers glance back with the hook at the end.

centaur3_closeup.jpg

Overall I'm quite happy with the result. I'm not sure if I would use that picture in a year in my portfolio, but it served well with the purpose it was created for in the first place.

See you in the next post,

Cheers!

.
centaur3_gif2.gif

Sort:  

For an underdeveloped skill, I think you write very well ;-)
Welcome on steemit and keep posting added value posts like this one!

haha, thanks! As a designer my job is to provide with solutions in visual way. It is rare for someone to ask me about my feelings and thoughts. Mostly clients want the result. So yeah, this is something completely new for me :D

maybe they're scared of the possible answer ;-)

Welcome to Steemit. You are blessed to have a wonderful talent. I look forward to your future posts.

Congratulations @akalinsk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77