Being an Artist in the Age of Technology: Much Work is "Invisible"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

I am slowly muddling my way through the preparatory stages of "ramping up" my artistic/creative efforts when a job I have been working for a number of years ends, on June 30th.

As I have mentioned here, it is my aspiration, hope and dream to turn Alchemy Stones into a viable "sideline income," rather than have to face the sad truth of needing to work at 1.5 external jobs. I'd prefer to just work at 1 external job, and have the art be the "0.5 job."

Stone
Large and very detailed Alchemy Stone

Art in the Age of Technology

For the past week, I have been working to polish up all the social media, sales and blogging venues I have created for Alchemy Stones... and set up originally in a very basic way, but without the time/effort to ever turn them into something "serious."

It's surprising just how much work goes into things people will never tangibly be aware of.

For example, creating a social media "machinery" and the plan to make it effective and efficient. It's surprising just how many steps are involved in going from "occasional dabbler" to "taking it seriously."

It's where you also discover just what a daunting task lies ahead: With social media, having "1000 followers" probably means — effectively speaking — that about 10 people look at your stuff.

No, I'm not kidding!

At least, it holds true when you have only "dabbled," which means you haven't served up a consistent stream of "content of value" that has made it worth anyone's while to be nailed to their collective seats in expectation of your next post...

Patience, and Patience and More Patience...

Mandalastone
Yes, I do occasionally paint "pale" stones...

Even though I have had the "brand" known as "Alchemy Stones" for 7-8 years, it is surprising how much building will be involved here, and it will be a long slow process requiring a lot of patience.

My efforts so far have been mainly OFFline through shows and festivals... as well as through a single local brick-and-mortar location.

With social media and building online awareness for your art, it doesn't matter how good your creative expressions might be, you pretty much start at "playing to an empty house."

It's kind of funny and ironic: It is said that it takes five years of diligent work to become an "expert" at something, and I have been doing this kind of painting for 12 years, seven of them as some kind of cohesive effort.

I might call myself "expert" from the purely expressive point of view, but now I have to basically bring that expertise to the world, pretty much starting from scratch... including the learning process of how to market "spiritual" art.

Much to learn... and lots of patience needed!

The Fine Art of "Begging for Money"

I'd say a good 50-60% of the artists is know in person have created Patreon accounts, in addition to simply creating their art. I have now also created a Patreon account, as an adjunct to my work, and my efforts here in Steemlandia.

Mandalastone
A lovely FLAT skipping stone; the best kind to paint!

Whether you look at it as "crowdfunding" or "begging for money," where most creatives need "a little help" to enable their creativity to even exist. We live in a world where even an extra monthly $200 can mean the difference between working and creating, and being out on the street.

Sad, but true.

Of those 50-60%, maybe 90% never made a serious useful go of the Patreon opportunity, or they lost patience, or they found themselves unable to keep up with it. There's much more to effectively using Patreon than just making a page and hoping that someone will find it and become a supporter.

Of the other 10% (which numbers only three indviduals), one is quite successful and she's basically a professional "Social Media Machine," while two others have managed to build some fairly basic support.

In most cases, art is not only a "hard sell," but finding a balance between actually creating, and promoting those creations presents a major (time) challenge.

Thanks for reading, and have a great day!

2019.05.05 AS-TXT-011
This post is 100% powered up!

P.S.: Finally got a prototype footer done...

SHOPS:

Alchemy Stones' Etsy Shop

Alchemy Stones eBay Shop

Alchemy Stones on Amazon Handmade

Alchemy Stones at the Red Dragonfly

Multisalessmall.jpg

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Alchemy Stones twitter feed
Alchemy Stones Facebook Page
Alchemy Stones Instagram
Alchemy Stones Pinterest

Multisocialsmall.jpg

Sort:  

There's people in San Antonio that paint rocks and leave them for people to find @alchemystones. Your's are awesome. I found this one at the post office.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @wonderwop, yes I have seen some stones around, as well... there are (last I looked) about 800 town/city groups that paint colorful rocks and leave them in various places... an interesting trend that started about 3-4 years ago. We have a stone painting group here in Port Townsend, as well.

Discovering your alchemy stones account...your creations are wonderful ! ❤️ créating all these points and marks is kinda meditative, isn't it ? ^_^
I love to paint some stones when I find very flat ones...LoL..I enjoy to make collage of inspiring words on them gehbywhsbb.jpg

Thank you for coming by my blog @barbara-orenya! Yes, painting little patterns is very meditative.

I like your painted stones, too and how they are a reflecting of the rest of your art!

I feel you, @alchemystones ! I have also started to branch out of Steemit to try to see 'art' as a potential and actual source of income, instead of just as a hobby. I think you are right, there are so much stuff that are involved in building the path to financial stream from arting that is unseen and intangible.

And yep, 1000 followers may only translate to 10 people looking at your stuff. It is that kind of conversion rate.

I wish you all the luck and success, for sure! It would be amazing that the 0.5 will come from your creative processes instead of having to work 1.5 external jobs.

Lovely stones, as usual, the colours and arrangement of their patterns are very pretty <3

Hi @veryspider, I'm just trying to be very patient with it.

I have already spent several years building somewhat of a "framework" for taking art/creativity to the next level. It's not a complete "shot in the dark;" I have enough good feedback from 4-5 years of going to street fairs and festivals with the stones to know that selling them is not an impossibility... now I just have to make that possible.

My intention/hope is to work towards first creating a $500/month income which would enable me to NOT have to go work two afternoons/evenings a week in a bookstore. In many ways, I have been inspired by the "Steemlandia" experience because there are so many alternative/freedom/independent thinkers here. I really want to get out from under the pressure of having to give so much of myself to mainstream society for my survival.

Really like your arty stones, as a geologist and a mandala appreciator :) incidentally, there are lots of hand painted (by children) stones going around with hash tags, being logged. Similar vibe to them

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Yes, the whole stone painting trend took off about 4-5 years ago when a pilot program in the city of Port Angeles, Washington was created to get families out to use the public green spaces more: "paint a rock, hide it in the park post a picture to the Facebook group!"

Well, the idea went viral... five years later there are more than 800 rock painting communities with more than 500,000 participants around the world!

Your work is amazing, I wish you the best in your new business venture.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! It will take a while, but I am prepared to be patient!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for the support! I appreciate it!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 187 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for the support @trufflepig, it would certainly be nice if you were right about the value of my post!

Congratulations @alchemystones! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87