Vacations on Xanthon II - Citadel Haedre

in #art6 years ago

I only ever saw Citadel Haedre from above

while traversing the underside warrens. My brood typically incubated in the cheapest pods my clone-parent could find so we spent a lot of time coming and going from the underside. Even from above and at a great distance I was struck by the architecture of the citadel. The outer spires seemed to soar up just out of tentacle-reach, although I knew the floor of the Royal Cavern was more than a mile below.

I was feeling artsy today so first let me share a black & white edit :)

haedre citadel BW IV.jpg
Click to embiggen


The view at night

when the glow stones are muted blues and a mandatory curfew is enforced. I had to sneak out to get this picture LOL

haedre citadel blue bones III.jpg
Click to embiggen


By day the glow stones reflect the sunspot activity of the binary suns, pulsing through an ever changing array of yellows and oranges and purples and reds...

haedre citadel bright bones II.jpgClick to embiggen


The transition at second dusk is my favorite time of day on Xanthon, as the noise begins to die down to the gentle buzzing of the incubator pods and the last muted colors of the setting sun leave the lower levels...

haedre citadel blue bones IV.jpgClick to embiggen


Original Art

These are variations on an offshoot mutation of one of my @haedre abstractions - follow the link to learn more :)
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/dreaming-of-haedre-willamette-abstraction-3

My original macro photography of water ripple (left) was the first base image.


The first style image I trained the Deep Dream Generator with was a
slice of @haedre's art (left), used with permission.


This offshoot mutation branch started with a mirror crop that I applied a PhotoShop extrude effect to:

I used the above as the new base image in subsequent runs through the Deep Dream Generator to arrive at today's vacation pictures :)

Sort:  

Wow! My favorite is the second image!!

Posted using Partiko Android

On that one I let more of this crazy honeycomb layer come through :)

Hellz Yes!!
Those are all pretty badass.
I'm loving the B&W version. It looks Gigeresque.

Yeah that was my fav as well :)

I also agree with @doctorcrypto the most intense (and ominous) is the black and white and also thought of a Giger like dystopian ruins. In the coloured versions my brain find pareidoliaa and I stop seeing a city to find robotic dragons

ooh I like robotic dragons image :) Yeah it is funny sometimes when I am working on these for a while in color, I will find that a black and white edit actually brings the shapes out even better.

I must get myself that app,I sometimes use symmetry to build thrones and structures. Yes, black and white always adds a new depth like itbis more raw and dramatic but also colours evoke moods.

Oh ! The height !!! Tis dizzying for a small spider !!!!

Amazing, Carl ! I love these so much <3

Thanks spoder, this series was kind of an experiment in using the PhotoShop extrude effect on one of my alienscapes and I like the results! Starting with a symmetrical mirror and then extruding definitely gave it a really cool sense of perspective.

This looks awesome and indeed pretty deep...I'm also into the second one, love the colors and this black magic lizard priest in the center.

thanks yeah that central figure was the original thing I was focusing on when I cropped out the base image from a previous experiment :)

It has almost a H.R Giger feel to it ..

Hi @alieneyeball!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.336 which ranks you at #40735 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 66 places in the last three days (old rank 40801).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #150.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @alieneyeball! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wonderful art and a great story to pull them all together! Nicely done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83