Experimenting With Watercolours

in #art5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Experimenting With Watercolours


My First Watercolour Painting.


Imgur

My first attempt at using watercolor paints


A recent post that caught my eye was from @veryspider, who if you don't already know, is a very accomplished artist and one of the first accounts that I 'followed' when I arrived at Steemit.

The post is called Lucky Kumo and features a beautiful watercolor of a lake at sunset painted by @veryspider.

But that's not all... What really touched my soul was @veryspider's heart warming thank-you for a box of goodies sent from Japan by @shibasaki who was later revealed to be 'the best Grandpa in the world!'

Witnessing this exchange of love and gratitude is the sort of thing that really makes my day and I wish I would see more of this in the world everyday, maybe then we wouldn't have so many problems and stress.

Anyhoo, after reading the post and checking out @shibasaki's profile, I felt inspired to 'try watercolours' even though I've never really used them before.

My goal for this exercise was simply, to get the paint on the paper as I wanted to get a feel for the brushes and my control of the brushwork, however I've since watched some of @shibasaki's Brush Technique's for Beginners video series and have learnt that my brush was much 'too small' for watercolors.

Of course, I wasn't expecting to create a masterpiece and I know the piece is not perfect but I had lots of fun painting it and will continue watching the series to keep learning. My hope is that one day I will be able to create something just as beautiful as these artists and I feel that whenever I use watercolors from now on, I will always be reminded of this heart-warming memory.

If you would like to watch @shibasaki's beginner video series, please read the following post:

Brush Techniques for Beginners #2 / Watercolor painting

If you scroll down to the bottom of that post, you'll also find another link for Brush Techniques for Beginners #1.

Thank you so much @veryspider and @shabasaki

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

It's great to see that you were inspired by fellow steemians. Oh, I also love watching spider and shibashaki :) They are such a great team!

I think it's a good beginning. I like the shapes and the colors that you used. The blending of red and yellow on the left is very good in my opinion!

A little bit of training and you'll get much better :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good day!

Thank you so much for the encouragement @delishtreats, I am really enjoying watching Shibasaki's videos, he is a fantastic teacher and I appreciate how he breaks the process down to the very basics, such as explaining the correct brush size or how to correctly prepare your water. I'm also very pleased that you noticed and liked my red to yellow gradient on the left hand side as that one was actually intentional. Thank you again for your kind words.

You're in great company with @veryspider and @shibasaki! Great watercolor too😊

I found your post because @guifaquetti featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation contest entry!

Thank you for dropping by @lynncoyle1, the Pay it Forward Curation contest is a fantastic way to discover new creators and I'm very grateful for the interest and support I've received.

They are wonderful people, aren't they? @veryspider and @shibasaki have given me so much inspiration and also, courage to move out of my comfort zone as an artist; they've expanded my horizon and lifted my spirit so it can see further... :)

Thank you for appreciating our Pay it Forward community; you can join us any time with an entry of your own too😊

They are fantastic people, and I'm glad they've inspired your artistic abilities!

I came to your post because it was featured in an entry to @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 48
Posts that have been selected by the entrant will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community and given support.
You are welcome to submit other author’s post in future contests. The PIFC community has a support Discord Channel that you are invited to join. For more information about the PIFC family along with a great way to meet new people. We are a group of like minded people that focuses on assisting one another.

Thank you @wolfhart, I really appreciate your support. The Pay It Forward curation contest is a great initiative and I enjoy seeing the selections from each contestant. It really does make a difference to receive a little recognition especially for those who make an effort to publish higher quality posts. Just to know that others are enjoying what I do, makes it all very worthwhile

It really does make a difference to receive a little recognition

It does make a big difference. You should be getting some more visits from pifc members. Visit the discord and the other featured entries from other post

Nice little experiment. I also know that family of artists. They're all very talented!

Congratulations on being featured by @guifaquetti in the Pay It Forward Contest.

Thank you @trincowski, yes they are VERY talented... but more importantly, their love and respect for one another shows that they are also a very close family and in this day and age, such shows of affection help restore my faith in humanity and it is such a blessing to witness. Thank you for your support.

I really like how you arrange the tiles in the triangle composition, @alphaccino.art ! You have a real knack for selecting and matching the colours that would set side by side on each tile in a very pleasant and harmonious manners :D And as a whole, when I pull back and look at it as a whole, it also makes for a very lovely and artistic piece :)

The blending from yellow to red on the leftest tile is also really neat <3

What a wonderful post ! I am glad for it and I hope you will also continue the watercolours journey with us in the future <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much @veryspider, I also like how the triangle shapes turned out and would like to create some more pieces using the same idea, maybe in other colours or mediums... that's what I love about art, a lot of it (for me) is experimenting to see how things turn out, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't but no matter the result, I am always learning ;)

I have been watching Shibasaki's videos and have already learnt so much, he is a wonderful teacher and I really love the way he presents his ideas. He seems like such a happy person and that alone inspires me to be happier myself. It may take me a while to catch up but will definitely be joining you both in this journey.

Thank you again for your encouragement and support, it really means a lot and helps me move forward (as @scrawly mentioned comment) <3

good job mate, diggin the psychedelic vibe :P

Thanks Cope, I really wasn't expecting it to turn out so well so it was a nice surprise.

yall gots the natural skillz, i say keep at it. They say artistic release is good for the soul.

What a wonderful post <3 <3 <3.
                       
Like you, I really like when I read about heart warming relationship that is happening in this platform, because it means that we're not just some strangers who are unattached and only here for our selfish reasons.      
                       
Your first watercolour art is great and I really hope that you will continue drawing. Let's keep moving forward ^_^.

Thank you @scrawly, it's lovely to see isn't it? My family is very reserved when it comes to showing emotions so I especially appreciate when I see others expressing such genuine affection. And don't worry, I will keep drawing but now have a wonderful teacher who will guide me though watercolours too. :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for sharing your work with us. I hope you keep developing your gift and share more in the future.

I came here because @guifaquetti featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you @viking-ventures, I'm really pleased to have 'broken the ice' with using watercolours, even though I've had them for years, I'd never learnt how to use them properly. It was a really fun exercise and I always love learning so it's definitely a medium I will continue working with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77