Trying To Paint Like Bob Ross (And Failing!)

in #art5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Trying To Paint Like Bob Ross (And Failing!)


So I turned it into a Flower instead..!


DSC_1158_steem.jpg

This is the first painting I've created using a palette knife


Following a Bob Ross tutorial is the trending thing to do on YouTube lately. I'm not sure if this is because of the way he breaks down the process into easily managed brush strokes or whether people find some sort of therapeutic comfort in his voice. Either way, he is an incredible painter and teacher.

The tutorial that inspired the above picture piece is called Catus At Sunset but as you can see, my artwork did not result in a sunset...

I guess that's what Bob refers to as a happy little accident but let's face it, Art is not about being perfect, it's also about the experimentation and learning that happens along the way. That's how we grow and improve. (see, I even sound like an artist...)

To be honest, I didn't think I could achieve the full painting and that was never my aim but what I did take away from the lesson was the method Bob used to create the sunset effect with the sun glowing through the clouds for his background.

It seemed fairly straight forward and I really thought I could pull (at least) that much off... and now, I don't know if oil vs acrylic has anything to do with the outcome but I DID NOT achieve the same effect as Mr Ross. IDK, prehaps I didn't beat enough devil outta that brush...

The method involved painting the first layer with a bright yellow. When dry, I used some contact paper to cut out a circle placed it on the canvas to mask out the sun.


DSC_1127_steem.jpg

So far, so good


After that was a layer of black and then a layer of transparent crimson then Bob used simple brush strokes to create the clouds, radiating out from the sun. He loaded his brush with yellow paint and starting at the centre, he worked his way to the edge while his brush picked up more and more crimson each time, creating some beautiful orange and crimson tones along the way.

bobRossCircle2.jpg

bobRossCircle.jpg

Ok, so mine didn't work out that way..!

In the end, my happy little accident led me to finish the painting using a palette knife; a technique I've not tried before and I'm really happy with the result even if it's nothing like my original vision...

It might not be a masterpiece but to me, the painting is a reflection of my ability to let go of failure (negatives) and redirect my attention to success (positives).

Have I mastered this ability? maybe not, but I think I'm a better artist for just making the attempt.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

Please check out my recent posts:

Reflection Photography
nTOPAZ New Year Calligraphy Contest
Name That Plant - Cotyledon Orbiculata
Backyard Buddies - Australian King Parrot

Line

Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hello @alphaccino.art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for your support @creativecrypto, very much appreciated.

Looks like it is a nice result regardless, @alphaccino.art :) I like the colours :)

goes to google bob ross now

Thank you @veryspider, the colours really appealed to me as well.

At first, I thought I was painting a Sun but as you can see, it turned out much better as a flower... but it's good practice and these lessons always get tucked away into memory to be recalled when needed.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @alphaccino.art
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

If you continue and practise, you will get the results you expect.
And I think this will be pretty much the same what Bob would have said to you ;-)

You don´t make mistakes! It´s just a funny little accident!

Yes, this is very true.. @hasenmann I was really pleased with myself for completing the painting rather than stopping half-way through and considering it a 'failure'. As I'm sure that Bob would also agree, the most important thing is that I tried and as you say, practice is the key. Thank you so much for your comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow! This one is a beautiful paint art by you. I have not tried yet but it always appealing me. Great work

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @ikrahch, I think the biggest obstacle to being creative is not starting so I do hope you try it one day.

As they say, things come to you when you are ready for them so perhaps this too will come to you when you are ready to embrace it and it's never too late to start

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87