Perpetual Evolution - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago



Evolution seems to be something that is relegated to a historical idea. It is easy to think that all the bugs have been worked out and that we are now living in a time of perfection. but of course that is not the case. Maybe for us humans we have been able to slow down the process as we have in many ways created our own environment to contend with but I am sure as time goes on we will notice changes in our biological makeup as we breed out all the uncool kids that are just not with it.

And so was the inspiration behind this piece. That we are at a snapshot in time and not at the end as we can be forgiven for thinking. We of course are the things questioning the thing, if you catch my drift. Anyway i don't have any predictions on what we will become (I am only a sculptor after all) but I am sure that starting to augment ourselves both biologically and electronically is on the cards and how that will transform what it is to be human is anybodies guess.



Stuck in the middle with you

With this sculpture I wanted to explore this idea that we are in the middle and not the end of this survival of the fittest relay race. It was made in a little park in the center of Tallinn, Estonia for some sort of ice sculpture trail around the city. I was given a 2 meter by 1 meter by 50 cm block of ice to play with and off I went. Being the depths of winter and -22c I didn't have much audience. People rushed by as they hurried from one warm place to another, for me I was 8 hrs a day working on my sculpture during the 4 days. When it is this this cold frostbite is a worry and the ice takes on a much more tensile quality, much harder but very fragile so lots of care has to be taken.



Divide and conquer

I started by cutting up the block using some sort of sudo Fibonacci mathematics and had five parts of different sizes from large to small. Each of these was then carved as similar decreasing forms.
As a main structure I made Mobius strips in the form of infinity symbols. Their continuous surfaces looping around to become a two faced object.



What goes around comes around

At their heart was a structure based on the rungs in DNA symbolising the genetic code where all these subtle changes are recorded. The placement of the five was to show that although getting smaller the process will still continue.

It was nice to work in this historic city and create a bit of temporary art which seemed very fitting in the frozen surrounds. The addition of the bronze deer to the composition wasn't really intentional but it gave the location a very natural feel and it was like my sculpture was another naturally occurring object in the landscape.

I placed tealight candles in a circle around the piece for the photos. I thought the warm light coming through the ice would be a nice contrast in the frozen scene.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

This is the first time I use the #stem tag, I thought that because this is very much a sculpture about an important science I would give it a try and hopefully introduce my work to new eyes. I have always thought that artists and scientists are using what tools they have to try and understand the world better. If anyone has a problem with me doing so please let me know in the comments and I will remove it.

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


Disjointed - ice sculpture

The bold and the beautiful - ice sculpture

You may kiss the bride - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

It is a beautiful idea to think that we are in the middle of our evolutionary journey and not at the end :) And the sculpture is also very enchanting, borne out of this premise !

I am glad you took care about the extreme temperature, too. Frostbite is no joke > __ < !!!

I hope we’re not at the end of our evolutionary journey as that would mean we all probably gonna die 😱

Hope you kept warm while carving or in between, that sounds way too cold 😵 the sculptures are beautiful, the addition of the tea light candles was a really nice touch, the lighting looks particularly pretty in the closer photos 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=6angjt-perpetual-evolution-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.224 which ranks you at #3085 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99