Crash test cowboy - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)



You would be surprised at some of the things I have had to suffer for my art..... Now, it's your turn.

For the third time I returned to Dieren in the Netherlands to make another sculpture. This time they wanted me to make it on top of this platform.



This is just a test

Looking at the sand compaction when I arrived I thought it may be nice to carve some sort of dynamic cowboy on a horse, with the horse having stopped at the edge and bucking it's rider over into the abyss.

As I got started I remembered my previous experiences in Dieren and the mud, rock filled sand. This time with the added bonuses that the sand was very wet and on a steel and concrete platform, which was in all fairness quite strong but the smallest movement from me caused the whole sculpture to wobble like jelly on a plate. Making the whole experience feel very precarious.

Along the way the Cowboy turned into a crash test dummy, probably reflecting my feelings on what I was doing. At any moment the muddy pile could liquefy and like an avalanche engulf me and knock me from my perch.



Safety last

I did get it finished with lots of safety compromises along the way. The dummy was like, well, a dummy and the horse more like a begging dog. With any hopes for making a dynamic sculpture dashed I decided to chalk this one up to a learning experience.

Move along, nothing more to see here.




clickablesm.gif





Ps

Thank you for joining me on this journey as I look back and document my work as an ephemeral sculptor. There are many more to come in both sand, snow and ice.
Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Picture this - sand sculpture




The Kiss - sand sculpture





Skin on Skin - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon and please bring a friend.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Good story. As for the horse, I could probably sculpt a better one myself;)

Probably true. He looks a bit like My little pony:). Jelly sand and hanging on for dear life are no excuse.

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you. I love what you guys are doing to support art on the blockchain and hope that i can be involved in the future. I hope by preserving my work on steem I am moving in the right direction.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=crash-test-cowboy-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

@ammonite You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94