Disjointed - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)



Up'sid'daisy I forgot this one. Before I leave Jelgava, Latvia for this year here is a small solo I made in 2005 at the same project. It slipped through the cracks but I still think it deserves a bit of a mention before I move on.

Sculpture cubed

This was my attempt at a cubist sculpture. I am not too much a fan of the period but the concept of trying to capture the essence of a subject from many different angles intrigues me. I tried to break a face down into blocks and then shift them around like a game of Tetris., Nothing to far out or creative I'm afraid but for a one day carve it had some sort of atmosphere going on. There was also I'm sure something I learned from it but I don't remember what that was.

Anyways after this Fergus Mulvany and myself teamed up and made a bigger piece which you can find here



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


The bold and the beautiful - ice sculpture

You may kiss the bride - ice sculpture

Loop De Loop - snow sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=disjointed-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cubism is amusing 😆 love the detailed bits in the cubes 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73