La Pineda nativity 2002- sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago




For our third year in La Pineda, Catalonia (Don't say Spain, they don't like that) we made a sculpture which was quite different from the usual sand nativities which happen in many areas around the Mediterranean.
Instead of making a crib and characters we played with different scales and showed other parts of the story of what surrounded jesusssssss' birth.


The composition was quite interesting in that it was very much a sculpture you had to walk all the way around to get the full picture. Trying to take a photo to show it all was just not possible. This is what I think good sculptures look like in photos ie. not giving the whole picture. Sculpture is 3d after all.

I'm Sorry about the quality of my images, I shot these with the photo function on my video camera which is apparently not very good.

Making it large

At the center was a large baby carved nicely by @stijgerart , surrounded by two large hands made by Peter Busch and myself. It was nice to be able to work so big but a challenge to keep both hands the same scale and likeness. I think they worked out quite nice also.




On the outside we had relief carving depicting Mary and Joseph making their way to Bethlehem with the Angel showing the way.




On the other were the three kings making their journey with the blingy gifts.



This experimenting with a new approach to making a crib would begin a challenge we set for ourselves each year. To come up with a different composition and try to make the sculpture fresh for us to work on and for the viewers to never know what to expect.
La Pineda has many of the same visitors each year and we want to make it interesting for them. Seeing the same old Classical crib would be boring and something that any sand sculptor could do but with a team like the one we have there we want to add another dimension.

Public service announcement

I will be flying to Spain, sorry Catalonia on tomorrow for another Installment. Each day I will post a progress blog and resume normal posting when I get back. Even though Steem isn't doing too well at the moment I will keep on posting and hopefully increase my Steem power for when the bulls return. Thanks to everyone who is still actively posting and developing in these tough times.

Adios Amigos or as the Catalans say adéu amics.


clickablesm.gif




Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


Tantalus - ice sculpture (remastered)

2001 a nativity odyssey begins - sand sculpture

A very brief history of sculpture - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

I really do love your approach on this one. I love that you wanted to capture all of the events that surrounded His birth and I think you succeeded with that! That baby up there looks so alive

You and your friends (colleagues?) Are super talented!

Hey @eveningart, I think you will want to see this

His, thank you. This was very much a team effort. I'm back again in La Pineda making another sculpture. Be sure to tune in to see my daily blog of how it develops.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, I would just like to mention that I have answered the question you have made to Witnesses on @witnesssurvey All my answers, including the one to your question, are at https://steemit.com/witness/@igormuba/witness-igormuba-answers-to-the-witnesssurvey-questions-and-answers Thank you very much for engaging on the community and getting to know more the witnesses!

Wonderful!!! You are such a good artist!!!!

Thank you so much. Coming from you that is quite an honor.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are one of the best artists here!!!!! And I'm really happy when I see your fantastic works!!!!

Wow, I love this! ❤️

Thank you for engaging with my post. There is not much of that these days.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is absolutely stunning work, @ammonite ! The sculpting is simply amazing <3 Gorgeously designed and such wonderfully wrought <3 I love it very much !

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=la-pineda-nativity-2002-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.228 which ranks you at #2780 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2782).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 290 contributions, your post is ranked at #162.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76