Swimming - sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)




After the project I did in Luliang I was hoping that my next sculpture would redeem me in some way. It wasn't meant to be. This period of my work seemed to be one unsuccess after another. Still I will document them all. Maybe in each piece there is a seed of an idea that was good.

This was for the 2002 annual Scheveningen competition in Holland, As I said in my last post I'm not into competitions but have done many because it is still an opportunity to make a sculpture and hopefully improve. Win of lose i didn't care as long as I out did myself and saw some improvements. It wasn't meant to be.



CAD (Computer aided Disaster)

Seeing as the theme was Water I had wanted to do some dynamic figures swimming and appearing weightless in the water, using bubbles as supports. I took the time to use some 3d software (Poser) to compose the figures in such a way as to give interesting interactions and work out supports. My first idea was a like the above with the figures creating a large O shape but for me it was too contrived so I tried to go for a more spiral arrangement like in the sketch below Where I could lean one body part against the other. If I could great, if not I would bridge the gap with bubbles.



A lesson learned again

Never design without touching the sand, It will only end in disaster as you try to fit a squre peg in a round hole.

The sand and weather was awful and soon after I carved the arms and woman's face they crumbled to the ground. I tried shifting the poses, her head was gone. i tried to abstract her head with the sand I had left, another failure.



In the end after trying to salvage what I could i removed her entirely and was left with a very awkwardly posed fishy man. Luckily I was able to save his large man hood.

Self censorship

I have to say it's great to carve in Europe where I don't have to censor what i'm making. With this post i have decided to use the NSFW tag but not for the reason you think. I don't think it is necessary due to it being art (questionable art at that). I have used it to help hide my embarrassment of this sculpture on the Bockchain. I'm sorry if you are shocked by the breasts and penis but more so by the terrible sculpture. Hopefully next time i will have something better for you.




clickablesm.gif




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steemit to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. I am doing them in chronological order so there are many more to come. Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Don Quixote/ luliang pact - sand sculpture




Duncannon Scroll (Addendum) - Sand/Cement Sculpture




Duncannon Scroll (part 2) - Sand/Cement Sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

LoL aaahhhh I'm so sorry that sculpture didn't turn out as planned, you did a pretty good job salvaging it all things considering XD

It's okay, everyone rolls 1s sometimes. Your other works make up for the ones you're not happy with right :D

On the nsfw thing if you don't think your things are actually nsfw and you're just using the tag because there's bits showing, use a tame cover pic and put the nudity warning in the title or somewhere right up the top to give people who choose to be offended plenty of time to back out :)

That's some good advice. I don't think anyone should be offended by nudity but I will warn in the future. The NSFW tag a think is a short of self inflicted censorship

Clickbait! It's great if you decided to show us all your work, regardless of whether you like it or not

Yes I think it's important to document ever piece warts and all. Thanks. They get better, I promise.

Posted using Partiko Android

Phew, I was scared to open the post lest I be offended;)

I'm sure you were offended by the quality of the sculpture. Will teach you for looking at not safe for work posts. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, ye caught me rapid!

A sand sculpture, repeat: Sand Sculpture just made the nsfw page!! Congratulations @ammonite, that’s two wins in my opinion. 👍🏿

I thought the tag was getting too tame with all the nude ladies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love your nsfw content Daniel :-)

I was hoping this embarrassment of a sculpture would fly under the radar but thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=swimming-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.117 which ranks you at #3003 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 3002).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 305 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

thats looking hott 😍😍 what an art

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75