Uncanny Valley - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago



All Done, I call this sculpture 'Uncanny Valley', which is a phenomenon in robotics about the human acceptance of robots and AI. The overall shape of the rocks is a reflection of the graph proposed by Masahiro Mori, a Japanese robotics professor in 1970. It shows that as robots and AI became more life like they would become more acceptable to people but there would be a moment when the fact that they are not real enough and the illusion would be destroyed leading to a feeling of revulsion and eeriness.

I represent this as an android robot trying to climb her way out of the uncanny valley while being pulled back by the humans that created her.

I will write more about this sculpture and project when it's time comes in the chronology of me documenting my work. Very soon my usual blog posts will continue.

Sort:  

Magnificent work you made there pal, they are truly amazing! I can't imagine how you guys can do such marvelous sculptures, I am in awe. Only a few can do that art and I know you are proud that you are one of those gifted with such God-given talent and skill. May I ask, do you do this at a beach resort? Because if you are, I think this will bring tourism to that place because they will really be fascinated by your creation.

Cheers @ammonite. God bless you!

Superb work. Before I read the idea behind it I thought perhaps it was human-cyborg-AI trying to escape the matrix but being pulled back in.

Pretty close, I was hoping that people would feel something for the struggle of robots. At least until they start taking all our jobs and killing us.

Ah! Wonderful ! It is completed !!! Well done, @ammonite :)

I really like how you are representing the Uncanny Valley theme with this work, as the android tries to climb up from the valley! Her body language is well articulated, I can sense her struggle as she reaches upwards and the hand that's holding her down is also very symbolic, as limitations from technology, maybe, to create something convincingly 'human'...

A gorgeous piece, @ammonite ! I have enjoying following the progress up to the finish <3 I definitely will look forward to your future writing about this sculpture :)

Thanks @veryspider. It was nice to get lost in creating this sculpture and push the limits of the sand. The theme really got me thinking of what it would be like to be a robot and do they have hopes and dreams.

hi @ammonite, really a splendid job! and what a profound message you gave it! how long did it take? was it for a competition? compliments and thanks for sharing

Hi. This piece took around 10 days to make. We usually spend about 8 hours a day working. It wasn't for a competition but for a much larger sand sculpture exhibition. Thanks for the question.

Awesome work :) great skills as always coming from you :D

I must wonder how you come up with the idea of what to create :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Inspiration can come from anywhere. For this one it strangely came form a scratch on the toilet door where I was staying. I knew I wanted to make something about uncanny valley but this gave me a visual to go on, (sorry the image is sideways)
doorscratch.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.785 which ranks you at #1410 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1406).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 385 contributions, your post is ranked at #133.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi ammonite,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14