The tale of Two, wait! Three Shermans. Build part one.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

As I am sure some of you are aware by now I run a small YouTube channel not unlike my dtube. I do kit reviews drawings, scale model builds etc. I am always trying to encourage people to take up either hobby, and that is how I find myself in this small conundrum.

I have recently made friends with a young man in Canada. He is a very keen scale modeler and I have been encouraging him with his model building and his own YouTube channel. He has been requesting for months now that I build an American WW2 tank called a Sherman. As this is not one of my preferred tanks I have been politely avoiding this somewhat.

A few days ago a close friend of mine asked me for a small favor. My usual reply when he asks is "Sure no problem". As it is very rarely something I will object to. My friend then presents me with not one, not two, but three Sherman tanks he would like me to paint! WHAT ARE THE ODDS???

20190212_124802.jpg

Having already foolishly agreed and feeling somewhat guilty over the prospect of retracting my promise, and letting down two friends at the same time, I had little choice but to accept. My friend presents me with the three scale models and I take them as agreed to be painted.

Upon arriving home and taking a moment to inspect the models I am not overly enthusiastic. There are mold marks, seam lines, glued on finger prints, incorrectly installed parts and all of the running gear is glued in place making it a lot harder to paint.

sher1.jpg

First things first! Start sanding! So I spend a few hours with some cramping fingers tidying up the little models (1/56th scale), with sand paper. Now I start the filling process. Using Tamiya Putty I start to fill in some of the holes in the kit left from the injection molded sprues.

sher2.jpg

sher3.jpg

And for now that is where I will leave you. In the next update I hope to have all the prep work done then maybe I can start on the actual painting. Thanks for reading! Stay tuned.

Sort:  

Congratulations @andrewsmodels! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01