The tale of Two, wait! Three Shermans. Build part two.

in #art5 years ago

Okay! after puttying up the imperfections on the kit I start to lightly sand back the surface to improve the finish and hopefully remove any holes / marks on the surface. Once complete it looks pretty good but I need to spray the model with a grey paint to act as a primer and show any imperfections I have missed. 001.jpg

Looks ok so far. Wait... well two out of three ain't bad.
002.jpg

"Expletive"! It isn't the end of the world. I just need to repeat the filling and sanding process on this one again. I use a Tamiya masking tape to protect areas I don't want putty to get on to.

003.jpg
And here is the putty applied and the tape removed.

004.jpg

Now it is time to start the fun part! I normally do not paint my models fully assembled as it can make it hard to get the paint into the recessed areas. However this time I don't have much choice, so I want the paint that does get in to be as dark as possible to help create a shadow effect later. I start with a few lights coats of Tamiya Olive Green. I also decide to color code the stands just incase my mate needs the turrets to be on specific hulls.

005.jpg

The straws really help to show how tiny these little fellas are.

006.jpg

Meh, pretty dull and flat right? Not for long!007.jpg

Using a 20% Dark Yellow and 80% Khaki Drab I start to add highlights to the higher areas.

008.jpg

I then do another pass over the model with a 50/50 mix of the two paints to give me more contrast. Once the paint has dried I then give the whole model (X3) a spray Of Gloss Clear Coat to blend the paint and protect it from the next steps in the painting process.

009.jpg

You can see how the earlier coats of darker paint have given a shadow effect to the recessed areas of these little tanks. Also don't worry the Overly Gloss look will be gone before too long.

That's it for today! I need to give the clear coat time to dry properly as it is lacquer based not acrylic. Don't forget I will also be doing a YouTube/Dtube video of this build once it is complete.

Thank you for taking a look! Keep an eye out tomorrow for part three!

Sort:  

Hello @andrewsmodels, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10