"The promises of this World are, for the Most Part, Vain Phantoms

in #art5 years ago (edited)

and to confide in one's self, and become something of worth and value is the best and safest course. ”

 - Michelangelo

Sometimes, an artist stands in front of a blank canvass perched upon their easel, and blankly stares...

A creative writer may find themselves performing a similar act, sitting at their keyboard, staring into the seemingly blank screen before them.

That blank document, is a writer's canvass...Once the pen, pencil, brush, fingers or whatever begin to move... something begins to appear upon the surface of their slate; almost like magic.Are they merely bringing forth what was already there...something laying dormant behind a veil...?

Perhaps the hand that moves whatever tool chosen for the task, is simply scrapping away whatever opaque matter it is, which obscures hidden wonders?

I believe that it was the artist, Michelangelo who is credited with saying something very profound regarding the above thoughts. He said, with respect to his carving ability on stone..."Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it."

This great sculptor and man of seemingly great wisdom, also stated (one of my favorite) "I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free."

Seeing many posts here on Steemit, and elsewhere from people who seem to be struggling within a search to create something of value; perceived value... I can easily recognize a piece of 'myself' in them. I can see 'me' in them during times of my painful youth, and sometimes...even now, during my old age.

Fortunately, my personal quest for greatness outside of myself has been substantially diminished, leaving me to bask more comfortably upon the sands of time, upon a metaphorical beach, being warmed by gentle rays of sunlight... caressed to a smile, by the tender touch of an ocean breeze.

The futile, vanity pressed upon my brain in younger days by following the hopes, concerns and dreams of others is gone. Going out on a windy day and having my curly locks get blown wildly out of place, can bring as much of a laugh out of me, as it does the giggling onlookers.

There is so much freedom in finally feeling, at least close to discovering 'who' you truly are... who and what you have been all along; hidden within a block of stone...

Be your own artist... Grab a chisel and begin to chip away at that which obscures the beauty within...free yourself with your own carefully guided hands...

Otherwise...you might remain, trapped within that huge chunk of stone laying frustratingly, useless in the tear flooded quarry of time and space.

Peace, and Happiness to you All.

Ciao


From the Heart and Mind of @AngryMan on Steemit, March 12, 2019


Images from Pexels.com
Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for the recognition @artzone

All my self portraits show my inner conflict...

snap (3) - Copy - Copy - Copy.jpg

Oy vey...vat a monster to have a 'brit milah'...

LOL, that is funny as you like.

Art creates life , life creates Art ;-)

I just stated, to the good lady, that sleeps with my crusty old arse, that I intend to sell my motorbikes, and to my surprise, she said "no" maybe I was just seeing a problem, when there was none.

It sounds like your good lady is a bright and caring woman...she knows how happy the bikes make you, and does not want to see that smile fade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83